We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - great food”
Review of The Bell Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place - great food”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had a room in Hill House, just up the road from the pub itself. The bedroom was nice but wasn't one of the modernised rooms - the bathroom was definitely not modern. That said, everything was clean and tidy. It was quiet during the night, and as it was Christmas we fancied a lie in, however, it was pretty noisy in the morning as i think we were above the kitchen. It's a small point though.
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was great. The food was delicious and the service very good. The restaurant was heaving so we were advised to book.
There's a village shop opposite Hill House which is handy for a newspaper in the morning.
All in all, a good night and we'd recommend staying and eating there.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    69
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
33
142
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My room, in Hill House (about 10 yards from the Bell Inn), was small but perfectly formed. The little design details are amazing: purple glow from LED lights, in the high tech apogee of bathrooms, shining thru the glass door to the bedroom (it goes off after a while, so no disturbance to sleep); with wet room style huge dual head shower with red landing light LEDs to edges of shower screen; fantastic bright lights around the mirror; fan like presentation of soaps, shower gels, etc.. The bedroom is comfortable, clean and well presented with a good size writing table, comfy bed, super Sony Bravia flat screen wall mounted TV, nice carpet & mirror fronted wardrobe, plenty of plug sockets, nicely judge artwork, and free wifi (although initially had trouble getting latter to work). The only criticism I would make is that the sound proofing between rooms is poor, with the guy's snoring in the next room being more audible than I would have hoped.
The Bell Inn is a beautifully preserved 15th Century coaching inn, impressive on both the outside and inside. On my visit, it had a great atmosphere, packed out with loads of customers eating & drinking (always a good sign, but best to book ahead). The food and wine I had was very good, but not what I would describe as great. Certainly good enough for a pub restaurant, especially when combined with the cosy ambience, to ensure repeated visits.
Last but certainly not least, the staff were amongst the most friendly, helpful and attentive I have ever experienced.
Overall an object lesson in how to run a small hotel and pub gastro restaurant. And this in a part of the country (the South East) which is better known for its lacklustre standards. The Bell Inn truly deserves its good reputation.

Room Tip: Check website, which has photos & descriptions, as rooms are nicely varied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Lovely, charming hotel, very well appointed suites at very reasonable prices. Facilities other than rooms nonexistant but the fantastic restaurant more than makes up for that. If you stay do your taste buds a favour and book a table. Will definaty return.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garbler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This place is in a quiet setting slightly off the beaten track. I've been to the Bell a number of times to eat but this is the first time I have ever stayed overnight in the nearby Hill House. In all of the years that I have eaten here, I cannot fault the standard of the food. However the service has always been a little hit-and-miss. The room on the top floor of the Hill House was comfortable with a lovely view of the high street. My only criticism was that the bathroom suite looked very tired and there were black lumps of mould around the bath seal.

Room Tip: If eating in the restaurant, try to get a table upstairs. Much better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p199132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel F, Front Office Manager at The Bell Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are delighted that you have always enjoyed your food at The Bell. We take on board your comments about the bathroom suite in your room and we are in the process of updating rooms where required (please see pictures of rooms 8,9 and 10 on our website for the latest renovations recently completed.) We do feel that our room prices offer good value compared with our competition.
We are very proud of our service standards at the Bell and naturally disappointed whenever we fall short of our customers, or our own, expectations. We would be grateful for any specific feedback on the nature of the service you received if you could contact me direct at hazel@bell-inn.co.uk .
We hope that you do return to The Bell and thanks again for taking the time to post your thoughts.
Kind regards
Hazel Fay
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I should have written this review ages ago as we found the hotel by accident - we were stuck on the M25 in the snow and pulled off to find somewhere to sleep. I could not believe we had been so lucky! This is a wonderful hotel with a superb restaurant and reasonably priced rooms. I loved the atmosphere of the dining room and the rooms were warm, comfortable and cosy. Everything seemed magical. We definitely plan to go back this autumn/winter (perhaps not when it snows!) because the log fires, the ambience of the restaurant and the gorgeous rooms make it a perfect spot to stop on a cold winters night!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Have just spent 4 nights at this quaint Essex pub. It's location is excellent for visiting friends in Basildon and the shopping at Lakeside and Bluewater. The food was absolutely top notch and we'll be back! Stayed in the Stable (room 7) which has a spiral staircase up to the bedroom and a lovely bathroom on the ground floor. However the room (except bathroom) is painted completely dark red which made the lighting quite poor and this made getting ready for an evening out quite difficult. Will definitely be back but will probably opt for a suite next time. Make sure you book a table in advance as this place is so busy even on a Monday night and when you've sampled the food you'll see why!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems the Stable room is not for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie and Del B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were on our way home from a day's strenuous shopping, and popped into the Bell Inn for a much-needed drink. The ambience was so charming, and the staff so friendly and helpful -- despite the fact they were already catering for a wedding that day -- that we decided on impulse to make a night of it. We had a beautiful meal in the bar area, and slept in a fabulous room full of character and with a large and comfortable bathroom. i would certainly recommend this establishment on every aspect. We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polychromia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horndon-on-the-Hill
1.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
583 reviews
8.2 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
960 reviews
14.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
713 reviews
4.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
512 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn Hotel

Property: The Bell Inn Hotel
Address: High Road, Horndon-on-the-Hill SS17 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Horndon-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn Hotel is a boutique establishment featuring 27 individually-styled bedrooms. Some are above the 15th century coaching Inn with the rest in 2 beautifully converted Georgian buildings, a few paces up the high street. Rooms vary in size from cosy nooks to grand suites. All feature modern and period twists that are sympathetic to the listed buildings that house them. The hotel appears in The Times Cool Hotel List May 2014. Award winning food and bars are available in The Bell Inn and The Ostlers. Room Rates are inclusive of continental breakfast. Nearest Stations: Laindon - (10 minutes)West Horndon - (10 minutes)Nearest AirportsGatwick - (50 minutes)Heathrow - (60 minutes)Stansted - (45 minutes)Southend (30 mins)London City Airport (30 mins) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bell Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn And Hill House
Bell Inn & Hill House Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill
Bell Hotel Hill
The Bell Inn Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing