We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Umberto's

Umberto's
Ranked #15 of 115 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Staff are very friendly and the food is good, the special board is worth a look and the atmosphere is very cosy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank billcro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hi my name is leanne I work and eat at umbertos this is a message to Cauliwolf review I was 1 of the waitresses who was working that night and wat u have said was all lies u didn't complain until u eat all of ur meal and if I didn't like it or there was something wrong I would have said something at the start wen I said everything ok with the meals u all said its was lovely and I was the 1 who came over asking 4 desserts and u asked 4 the bill u didn't sit there waiting long after ur main we gave excellent service and u did get mints every1 get mints with there bill I'm very angry you would make this up and call us childish coz it seems u are being childish for putting this up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank le1gh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor customer service”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had a poor meal, seafood was badly over cooked, and when I complained, my plate was returned to me telling me I was in the wrong. After that we didn't see a waiter so didn't order a dessert, but finally grabbed one serving another table to get our bill. Possibly due to me having the audacity to complain about one meal (out of 7) we didn't get any mints with our bill - our number meaning that we were obliged to pay for service regardless of our opinion - and although my meal was removed from the bill, the complete lack of apology or any offer of a different meal or anything until we finally found someone to write our bill, was VERY noticable. Plus, it's a very little thing, but when we finally got our bill, there were no mints. VERY CHILDISH!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cauliwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy little Italian”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you blink you might miss it...!
What a nice restaurant, good food at reasonable prices
Probably the only 'Real' Italian for miles
Check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“truly awful and bad value”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

awful experience..not well presented and very overpriced food (eg the steak at £25.50 plus £2.50 for the sauce plus veg on top was tiny ) and when our friend told the waitress that her duck was tough(she's eaten and enjoyed duck loads of times)the waitress returned to tell her that it was cooked properly and that she should have something else on the menu.We also listened to someone on the next table complaining about the lack of food in his meal especially his starter(mine at £8 ish for three scallops in bacon was amazing value-not! wouldn't have minded if it at least looked nice)
Overall a very uncomfortable experience, not good value for money at all(the prices up above are a guide as the bill contained little detail and couldn't remember prices from the menu!) It's like walking into a time warp( cozy -no... just that no money has been spent making it nice or making the toilets look acceptable)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umberto's also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Upminster, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to Umberto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing