We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found A Nice Chinese !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Palace

Mandarin Palace
Ranked #34 of 107 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Found A Nice Chinese !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

finally found a nice chinese want there with a family of 5 ..food was lovely ..had the duck what was best duck iv had .which was not dry.. service was spot on only thing!! there fast to take your plate when your finished ! and you might not be ! so just be carefully to tell them !It looks like a old pub ..car park round the back which is even better if you drive! very pricey £££ ..but great quality ..will be going back in the near future but not all time considering we love chinese food !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ossie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We eat out a lot, but rarely write restaurant reviews. However, last night we had a fantastic meal here and cannot think of another Chinese restaurant that compares on food quality, service and atmosphere, which were all excellent. I have eaten Chinese food for many years in many restaurants in many locations here and abroad and I think this is the best. It's not the cheapest, but it is worth the extra because the main thing you want when eating out is good food and the food here is simply amazing.

They have a pretty good Wine list here and the friendly and ttentive staff ensured our Wine glasses never went dry. They even brought out a cake and sang happy birthday to my wife, which was a lovely touch and much appreciated.

Would I go back? If this experience is a typical night in this restarant, I wouldn't want to go anywhere else for Chinese and can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rikdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice food but avoid busy times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a Saturday evening as a group of four. We chose this restaurant because of the rave reviews. Our table was booked for 8.30 p.m. We didn't get seated until 10.00 p.m. Every time we asked how long it would be we were told 5 minutes. We bought a drink at the bar but was not offered one. By the time we were served it was 10.45 p.m. It was extremely busy and obviously too much for the restuarant to cope with. The food, when it came, looked fine but nothing extraordinary and no different from other chinese restaurants I have been to but by the time it had arrived I wasn't hungry any more!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEST Chinese cuisine in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've been to many many Chinese restaurants around London and Hornchurch area, and this is a place to go to! Atmosphere was warm and great with a really authentic feel, the staff are extremely friendly, and last and most importantly.. the food is amazing!! If seafood is your thing, the scallops with ginger and spring onion are a must have here! The fish is fresh, and also!.. get the ribs! the are the definition of 'fall off the bone and melt in your mouth'!!! I've been here a few times and it's been consistently great.. and also, the restaurant connects to a nice bar, which is really convenient!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Chinese ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place serves the best Chinese food I've ever had. Their use of flavours and spices was impressive and each dish just tasted divine.
The ribs were particularly nice, the meat just fell off the bone.
This isn't your average run of the mill place, it's most impressive.
The sharing platters are probably the best bet, as you get to try a little of everything.
This may be a little more pricey than your average Chinese, but trust me, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Palace also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to Mandarin Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing