We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply Blues

Simply Blues
Ranked #78 of 107 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been going here for years, havent been for a while but the atmosphere always use to be good and played good music. think it was the matterhorn burger that i always used to struggle finishing, It is one hell of a burger though! would recomend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    18
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“SLOW”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went for dinner family of 4 , took ages and ages for us to be served and then the food took even longer! wasnt even busy , cant imagine what its like on a weekend! after the wait food was average!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no more Simply Blues for us”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our favourite restaurant for many years, but after two recent visits in December im afraid that love afair has come to a end. the food has really gone down hill but not the prices, i had the mushroom starter which i normally enjoy, but this time is was greasy with a horrible aftertaste, no one enjoyed there main course, on two occassions the ribs were dry and hard, some in our party tried something new after the rib disaster, but were left disappointed, coldslaw now in tiny carboard containers (more like pill holders), this is the first time i have complained. i did send a email to them but they answered with a message meant for someone else about opening times then sent another message saying that message wasnt meant for me.
Some may think this restaurant is ok, but if you had visited it in its hey day there is no comparison

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babs w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More of a 'blokes' restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is one of my sons favourite restaurants. Good sized portions, heavy on the meat!!! Service is good and friendly, and the prices not too bad.

Helpful?
2 Thank GaynorB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“vibrant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

really good place to have either a quiet meal during the week or more up tempo at the weekend
excellent variety of food and drinks

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank valcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Blues also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to Simply Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing