We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hornchurch
Post
Inbox
Search

“Horrible experience”
Review of The Sutton Arms

The Sutton Arms
Ranked #53 of 150 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Description: The Sutton Arms is a great friendly pub in the middle of Hornchurch’s busy populating town centre. It is relaxing during the day, allowing people to enjoy the excellent tasting food and drinks offers. When there is sports on or the weekend is upon us, it can change to offer a more energetic and vibrant atmosphere with live DJs Thurs-Sat nights hosting an array of pre-booked party nights as well as #PayDayParties! There is also a Speed Quiz on Sundays Providing sports table service for selected big screen matches! Under 18's are allowed on the premises before 6pm as long as they are taking a main meal from the menu. If the child is too young to take a main meal, the guardians must be dining. We are strictly over 21's from 8pm on a Fri/Sat
Restaurant details
Description: The Sutton Arms is a great friendly pub in the middle of Hornchurch’s busy populating town centre. It is relaxing during the day, allowing people to enjoy the excellent tasting food and drinks offers. When there is sports on or the weekend is upon us, it can change to offer a more energetic and vibrant atmosphere with live DJs Thurs-Sat nights hosting an array of pre-booked party nights as well as #PayDayParties! There is also a Speed Quiz on Sundays Providing sports table service for selected big screen matches! Under 18's are allowed on the premises before 6pm as long as they are taking a main meal from the menu. If the child is too young to take a main meal, the guardians must be dining. We are strictly over 21's from 8pm on a Fri/Sat
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff are so rude. Turning away people just for asking for cokes at 3pm in the day... really rude Waitress with no manners and very impolite. Won’t be coming back and decided not to order food. They need to sort their staff out and tell them to get personalities as it’s not nice being given dirty looks by the staff. Rude and rubbish

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank tara-martin43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 102 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2020

Went into the Sutton Arms for a couple of drinks before making our reservation at a restaurant around the corner. There were 4 staff behind the bar and it was fairly busy. I’ve done bar work many times myself and I know that the most important thing is to be aware of who has been waiting to be served for the longest period of time. It’s a basic skill that the Sutton’s bar-staff seemed to completely lack. After waiting for 15 minutes and watching yet another person walk straight up to the bar and get served straight away I decided that we would just leave and go to Weatherspoon’s instead where we were served within a minute. I don’t think that I would ever go back as it really is no better than JJ Moons and on the strength of my experience I wouldn’t recommend. There are at least 8 better pubs and bars in Hornchurch to go to.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Service
Thank SteveC722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttonsManager1, Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Hi SteveC722,

I am very sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience at our venue.
Please can you email us a contact number so I can give you a call to discuss the events of your visit with us.

TheSuttonArms.Hornchurch@stonegatepubs.com

Kind regards,
Nashe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

Been here once before and I left a review, to which management responded with a rather angry worded response claiming all kinds of codswallop about refurbishments. I stated that the place was stinky, I’ve been back now second visit and I’ve got to say it absolutely stinks still. The floor is sticky and the place is just a hell hole. Avoid cheers John

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Johnbrexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2019

Went here twice in a few days, both times to watch football - there are multiple screens so it's easy to see wherever you're sitting. The second time we went for Wednesday's pie and a pint for £5.99 - good value. It was a slice of steak pie with peas and potatoes. There is a £7.99 option which includes carrots and and and an individual pie (with steak and cheese) and this looked a bit nicer - will try this next time. It's excellent value for money. You don't have to have a pint - there are some spirit and mixed options or a glass of wine. Easy to get a seat early evening and the bar staff are efficient and polite.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CheekyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

Just visited this pub in Hornchurch and ordered food. It was awful. I never expect excellent food from a pub but this was the worst pub meal I have eaten in my life. There is nothing nice to say fish was cold, peas were cold, curry sauce was greasy and watery. Horrible. I will never eat here again.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttonsManager1, Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Hi Jackie, I would like to hear more about this visit, I.e date of visit etc as I would like to get to the bottom of this. We are quite famous for our chip shop platter being fresh and tasty, so this is very unusual to hear! Please drop us an email, we would hate for this one experience to reflect our food services as we can assure you that this is not the case!
thesuttonarms.hornchurch@stonegatepubs.com

Kind regards - Becca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sutton Arms also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to The Sutton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing