We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Great value!”
Review of Istanbul Grill

Istanbul Grill
Ranked #6 of 115 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Istanbul Grill in Elm Park, Essex. We are renowned for our authentic cuisine and unparalleled service. Our lunch and dinner menus boast traditional and unique dishes prepared fresh daily by our chefs. Complimentary salads and bread are served with all food. Bring your family and friends to Istanbul Grill for lunch, dinner or for your special event. We also offer take away service.
Chelmsford, Essex. UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food! Great value!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have only had takeaways. About a dozen now. The food is great, portion size good. Great value. Just like mama used to do....I'm Greek!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheoandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    24
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
billericay
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“turkey arrives in elm park”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

the Istanbul grill is more like a Turkish café than a plush restaurant , and the décor is definitely Turkish themed.
it would seem that in the short time it has been opened it has become very popular - and the reason is obvious , because the food is superb,the portions are generous the staff are attentive and the price is good value - all the food is good , but if you are a meat lover , then the "Istanbul special " would be an ideal choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank berniejBillericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food-slow service”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have ate there twice,once during the week and then once at the weekend.
The food has been beautiful both times we've been. It's cooked fresh and there is loads of it when it arrives.
My only moan Is the service. The first time we went during the week,we were shown to a dirty table,had to wait 5 mins for it to be cleaned and then even longer just to get a drink.
The waiter was polite and told us that his waitress hasn't turned up and he was doing it by himself,but our starter didn't turn up,and trying to get drinks while waiting was hard work.
When we went on the weekend again we were told that the waitress had'nt turn up. We waited an hour and a half for our food and as it was packed in there,again we couldn't get a drink.
I really hope they sort it out as the restaurant and food is lovely and it's right on the doorstep. But it has sort of put me off of going again as the services is so bad,but on the plus side like I said they are all very friendly in there

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 10575may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex.england
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The first time we ate there last week we ordered lamb shank. The meat was really difficult to get off the bone. In the end I gave up. The rest of the meal was lovely. So I hope it was a one off. We gave them another try last night and we were not disappointed with our choice. It's a lovely cafe and the staff are very helpful and polite. We managed to get a table last night even though it was Friday and we were supposed to book. The first time we went it was on a Tuesday and no need to book. Couldn't find the phone number anywhere see we took a chance. Might try the takeaway next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spearmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful turkish meal”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant - and within walking distance of home. 5 of us ate there - all thoroughly enjoyed different dishes. The liver starter was wonderful! Staff are very polite and attentive. Very busy - we went on a Saturday evening, but did not feel rushed. Lots of people coming in for take-aways. The food is cooked where you can see, so the standard is great. Looking forward to eating there again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Grill also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to Istanbul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing