We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Devonshire Hotel(Hornchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Austin Hotel(Hornchurch)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
20
29
13
8
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
29
13
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastpub downstairsyogurtinnkeepers lodgedidn't hear any noisepacked pubpay and displaycar parktube stationweekend staytea and coffee making facilitiesmain roadcomfortable bedwould definitely stay here againbooked this hotelbathhairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 84 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here recently for the weekend. Firstly the senior staff were very rude and arrogant, On arrival I got tutted at and eyes rolled as I could not hear what was being said to me, due to the very loud disco in function room. Then as we checked into the room it was very smelly, possibly plumbing issue with toilet? Lots of damp and mold all around windows and net curtains. Big stains on carpet and radiator. Curtains hanging off. Glass on corridor floor. Cracked bath panel. stains on the ceiling from leaks we think as look like water marks and was freezing! No heating on and my children now have colds! Please avoid :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Booboospeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We visited friends in the area and chose this hotel as we thought the price was reasonable.

On arrival we checked in ok, but were advised that we couldn't have a cooked breakfast the following morning as we hadn't ordered it online at least 24 hours prior to arrival.

We expected basic, but didn't expect the room to be so awful. The bedroom was small and you couldn't walk to the the other side of the bed as there was no room unless you wanted to knock yourself out on the TV on the wall! The room needed a good clean and the bathroom was grim.
The stains on the toilet seat made me gag - it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months.

However the bedding looked new or fresh and the bed was comfortable. There was one pillow each and although there was a spare one in the walk in wardrobe we wouldn't use it as the wardrobe was smelly and the the pillow was on a dirty floor.

We found a mouse trap behind the bed and there was a dead pigeon on the window ledge.

Even though it was cheap, there is no excuse for it being dirty.

I wouldn't recommend it and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night after a wedding reception nearby. We would have driven straight home from the wedding reception after checking in, had family not been staying at the same hotel with us. We were told that our room door was still drying after being kicked in the night before, what a welcome.
After the wedding receiption, we all had a drink in the pub downstairs and waited for the pub to close before going to bed as we knew from dropping off our bags earlier in the day that you could hear everything from the room upstairs.
The room was just awful. Bed sheets did not fit the two singles. No air con. Bathroom shower curtain was horrid, toilet wouldn't flush properly, not very clean. Liquid & sticky stains all over the bedroom walls. Dirty carpet. Dated furniture, need I go on?
Breakfast was awful too - only cereal and toast available - served in the pub bar area downstairs with the stench of beer soaked carpet. Tea mugs were dirty and the hot water was luke warm.
We quite simply couldn't wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank anon248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at the Inkeepers Lodge in Hornchurch. We picked this hotel as we had gone to visit friends in Hornchurch and wanted a central location.
The hotel is just about as near to the train station as you could get.(we did not hear any in our room)
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which was continental style. There was plenty of cereals, bread, pastries james etc to choose from. Coffee was always hot.
All the staff was very friendly and helpful.
We had a meal in the bar on our first night which was very nice. We chose a meal that was a "chefs special" which included a glass of wine each. After ordering and paying for the meal we were informed that meal was no longer available, we chose another meal and to our surprise a member of staff refunded us the difference of the meal even though we had the free glass of wine.
The room was a good size ( twin rooms have more space) tea and coffee making facilities are in the room as well as a hair dryer.
This hotel is perfect for sight seeing in London as the train journey is roughly only 40 minutes long and we was also able to use the same ticket when getting a bus later that night into town.
We was also surprised at the pub prices. We are from the Greater Manchester area and expected the food and drink prices to be high. We was very surprised to see the prices within the pubs at home to be much higher.
We will definitly book this hotel again on our next visit to Essex.
If you plan on staying here, then log onto their website as Ember inns often have good offers, like a free drink with a meal as well as other offers. One of the offers at this pub was buy one meal and get another for £1.00 when eating before 5.00pm. We were not at the hotel at this time to make use of this offer, but a great deal if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: room 102 can be a little challenging, there is not much room between the base of the bed and the wall. There is also a TV hanging on the wall which could be an issue if you have to get up in the middle of the night. We originally had this room but staff very quickly moved us when I raised my concerns.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baywatchHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed one night after attending a party nearby, the room was a good size, clean and well equipped. The bed needed a new mattress springs were prominent with no support. e returned very late after all of the pub functions had finished so had a quiet night. I imagine traffic noise could be a problem on a weekday. Overall suited our purposes for a one night stay. Breakfast was included and was self service but adequate.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back probably quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peters101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews