We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
Nearby Hotels
Devonshire Hotel(Hornchurch)
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelocity
View Deal
De Rougemont Manor(Brentwood)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn London Dagenham Hotel(Dagenham)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn London Rainham Hotel(Rainham)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
21
29
13
8
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
29
13
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastpub downstairsyogurtinnkeepers lodgedidn't hear any noisepacked pubpay and displaycar parktube stationweekend staytea and coffee making facilitiesmain roadcomfortable bedwould definitely stay here againbooked this hotelbathhairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 85 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

If I could give The Railway Ember Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge zero as a score I would. I have never had such a shattered night in a hotel or B&B as I did in this dive.

We arrived and checked in, finding a bland but perfectly adequate room would house us. We got ourselves settled and had just put on the TV for an quiet evening (about 19:00) when a disco began right below us. We had not been informed there would be music and this was loud enough to shake the floor! We tried to ring reception to find out what time the party would end and made the best of things.

The music eventually stopped at 00:02 and we prepared to settled down to sleep. That was when all hell broke lose... The people in the neighbouring room arrived back at about 01:00 and appeared to have invited extra guests back with them as they proceeded to have an extremely loud and expletive-filled conversation about who would sleep where and with whom. This continued until just after 02:00 when they seemed to sleep, until a forth guest appeared and woke us all up at 03:00 or so... The swearing and fighting between two males continued until gone 04:00; when we and the people on the other side banged on the wall they banged back more loudly and shouted and swore. We tried again to call reception and got no reply. We felt after the aggression of the conversation and the banging back on the wall we could not knock on the door to ask them to be quiet.

In the morning we had to be up to travel so decided to have some breakfast. This consisted of instant coffee (of which only two sachets were not de-caff), off looking fruit (including black/brown bananas looking a couple of days past their prime at least and apples with nail marks in them), two types of yoghurt and some cereals and bread to toast.

We complained about the noise to staff, who apologised but told us the manager was not around.

I would never stay in this place again - even if I was paid to do so - and would suggest even bedding down in your car would result in you having more sleep than you will be likely to get in this. Awful, awful, awful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have used the Railway hotel in Hornchurch three times now & fully recommend it as a good, quality stay. The best part has to be the staff & Linda, Mgr who runs the hotel is very welcoming. 

The Railway is also a busy local pub with many regulars. At first I was worried it would be noisy, but you don't really hear the pub much & it all quietens down by 11pm. 

The food served in the restaurant is very good & the customer service by the staff is excellent. Both Joe & Dave behind the bar are very helpful & Nick, another Mgr is also very efficient.

Overall it's the customer service that makes the Railway a charming place to stay. The food is quality & the wine excellent. The menu is very extensive & if you like fish it has a great selection from seabass to scampi. 

Lastly, the location is excellent as the hotel is next to Hornchurch tube which is a nice, safe station & convenient to get into Central London. 

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giraffe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We write as guests in the accommodation.
There is a difference when you sleep in the building.

Ember Inn pub/restaurants are now in the embrace of "Innkeeper's Lodge", one of the trading names of Mitchell and Butler.

The Railway Hotel is a very popular public house which has a catering operation and a fine Victorian function room.
It also has 12 en-suite rooms upstairs.
All this goes on in the same fine red brick building.

Our experience is of 3 nights last month at the unbelievable £25 per night advance booking offer of a double room. The cost is bound to influence our review.

The bedroom has had a recent renovation and the bathroom had been up-graded sometime earlier. The shower did not work and the basin plumbing fittings were broken.
It became obvious that these faults had been reported many times before without remedy by a manager(ess) who was on holiday at the busiest time of the tourist season which was interesting. We could not take up the issue.

Still it was only £25 per night and close to London with running water!

The rooms are currently used on weekdays by Olympic Games construction workers so occupancy until 2012 probably isn't an issue.
The contractors enjoy a superior breakfast which affected us.
Perhaps they pay more?
The buffet offering that followed them is the worst we have seen in an Innkeeper's Lodge anywhere.
The staff even took away the fresh coffee maker and replaced it with powder sachets and thermos flasks.
Really impressive standard if you were paying the full B&B rate.
Why is there no cooked breakfast option to non-building workers if the kitchen is manned anyway? Unprofessional and a wasted opportunity.

There are 2 large connecting bars in an L-shape and meals are also served in one of them nearly all day. Breakfast is taken there too.
We ate an evening meal twice and were very pleased with the kitchen produce and service.
You pass the kitchen en route to the stairs so you can see the catering through the one access door. Waiting staff then have to pass tables that obstruct the route.
The solution is obvious, but will M&B/IKL work it out with its talented board of accountant directors?

Our steaks were cooked to perfection.
They clearly have trained, decent cooks given their inability to vary what the chain supplies to them.
The cost of the food is a bargain and brings in locals.
There is a bargain Thursday curry night and a cheaper tariff all week for pre-5.00pm diners.
We arrived as the place was very busy. It was not easy to check-in at the hatch next to the bar.
We then had to negotiate baggage from the car park past the eating and drinking crowd packed at tables to the staircase at the rear.
We think accommodation income is not important in this pub diner.

Room observations:-
Comfortable bed, clean and excellent TV with all the Freeview channels.
Excellent towelling which is better than more expensive hotels. That'll go then?

No free toiletries, but it is a budget operation in this place.
No aircon, but windows do open and the area was quiet through the night which is a big plus considering the need for ear plugs in central London rooms.

Wifi is chargeable, but London's Cloud was reasonable for our stay at the 7 day rate of £11.99.
Europe is still a surprise to US guests with charging for this facility.
Our room was not above the party functions in the amazing Function Room on 2 of our nights and we were not disturbed at all.
Car Park is drug dealers' trading place. Hello Met?

We were also surprised to have to reach our car each morning through the bin area because the outer bar doors are security locked. The outside was swept in part, but this area was a tip. Appalling standards towards paying customers.

Staff especially Nick tried hard, but under pressure at the busiest time. Waiting staff were great given the demand.
Billing on Sunday was a trial because the office is not accessible to all and the need to obtain a receipt revealed differing computer systems between Ember Inns and Innkeeper's Lodge. IT manager action quickly.

Travel to London was simple because the Hornchurch tube station is outside.
Yes, we know that's why the Railway Hotel is named because of the adjacent Victorian rail/tube connection.
Only about 40 minutes to Mile End. Change on the back-to-back platform from District to Central line for the City or tourist stops. Regular frequent trains. The journey is mostly overground through the depressing urban landscape of outer London.

The Railway Hotel is clearly a hugely successful business, but we hesitated to return to a room with broken fittings.
Perhaps the manager has no maintenance budget?
The English local staff in the main are always the biggest asset. Hornchurch proves this.

We were to return in September on business in London, but at the full rack rate.
We cancelled because we could not accept that room with broken plumbing again and stayed elsewhere more expensively further out in Essex, but with guest accommodation as a core activity.
You can follow our trail.

The Railway Hotel needs to find an identity beyond pub and grub or disco to attract UK spenders to stay at the full rate.
And move the smokers who obstruct the guest entrance in the car park.

Room Tip: Ask for one with fully working plumbing.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren S, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews