We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Friendly Family Ran Hotel”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were able to make our reservations through email because we were traveling from the US. We were greeted by the owners and their son who were all very accommodating. They asked us if we had any dietary restrictions and throughout our whole party we had a lot. They had gluten free, soy free, egg free, and vegan/vegetarian options for all of us. We had breakfast each morning and they had several different options. The other diners seemed to enjoy their meals as well.
The rooms were comfortable and clean. I slept a full eight hours the first night even though I was on a completely different sleep schedule before I left.
It's a quick walk from the hornchurch station and there are a ton of restaurants to eat at. I definitely would recommend staying here for any reason!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a family party nearby great rooms , friendly welcome, hope the chef is better. Well done to the front of house staff who stood in and cooked breakfast for all the guest. You did yourselves proud. Will be back again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lynnieiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked two double rooms for a one night stay. The proprietor was welcoming and very helpful, and it got better, clean bedrooms, comfortable beds. The showers were spotless with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was cooked perfectly and served by a cheerful and very efficient waitress. Well done all concerned. Would stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After a welcoming arrival we went upstairs to discover a tastefully decorated bedroom and en suite bathroom which were both spotless. The facilities within the room were of a good standard and everything worked perfectly. The bed was extremely comfortable and my eyes didn't open for eight hours. I opted for the English breakfast in the morning which was delicious. All the staff were excellent especially the young lady at reception who also served breakfast who was fun, helpful and professional. If I ever need a hotel in that area of London again I'll certainly book at the Devonshire.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonto71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited London and stayed in this hotel. The carparking at the back was great. The rooms were tidy and comfortable. New bathrooms and decor. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
It does take a while to get to london centre but the price and quality of the accommodation makes it worthwhile.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We used the devonshire whilst visiting family who lived locally, the room we had was superb, the bed was comfy. staff were helpful and the full english breakfast was scrummy. I would stay here again and found it to be good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Used the hotel over a period of 4 months - Excellent quality, service and value for money. Very good selection of eating places within walking distance. Convenient access to tube Hornchurch / C2C train (Upminster/Barking) service into London. Free wifi (that works).
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms very good, stayed in various over a 4 month period
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornchurch
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
3.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
759 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge London Romford
4.6 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: 94 Station Lane, Hornchurch RM12 6LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hornchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornchurch
Price Range: $86 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Hotel is a family run boutique hotel which combines modern, stylish accommodation with a friendly, intimate service, delicious breakfast & freshly prepared home-made snacks. We also offer free wi-fi & secure parking. Located in Hornchurch (Essex), it is well linked to central London by underground and overground train links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Hornchurch, Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing