We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a spot of lunch”

Chimichanga - Hornchurch
Ranked #38 of 111 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: $33 - $46
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a spot of lunch”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

ChimiChanga does a very nice 2 course meal lunch menu which offers a variety of food. Have visited time after time and experience the same great food whichever main course I choose. The staff are attentive and nice. It isn't overpriced, nice atmosphere and decor inside. Would definitively recommend. Food can be spicier than expected :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenniferghx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    74
    36
    20
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed dining experience”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Went for meal with friends who had suggested the restaurant. We sampled a variety of foods as had a couple of sharing starters, in addition to our mains. Children's meals, especially the burger in a wrap was large enough to be an adult meal, and all 8 of us left the restaurant agreeing that we had thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere and service could not have been any better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nram959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BAD Service”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food was ok but not the best food we have had from this chain, my one gripe with the food was that we ordered the steak rare and it came out well done.

The service was shocking. The waiting staff paid no attention to the table and without having to get up from the table of frantically wave our arms around it was almost impossible to order more drinks. When the drinks did arrive the order was incomplete.

Whilst ordering the food the waitress was impatient and surly.

When the food came the waitress didn't know what she was bringing out and rolled her eyes at us several times because we didn't know whether what she was holding was a chimichanga or a burito.

Service charge automatically added to our bill for the Privilege!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAP2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Good Night”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to Chimichanga, Hornchurch, Essex Saturday Night (6th April) and a while since we have been back. Went there a long time ago and must say it did not disappoint. We went with friends who have never been and they loved it. The food was excellent, service was good as was the atmosphere. At a thoroughly enjoyable evening at a reasonable price. We paid £35 per head for all three courses, with drinks although you could do it cheaper. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very warm and friendly atmosphere, food freshly cooked and well presented. Relaxed and not rushed even when very busy. Good idea to book as usually full at week ends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tessa035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimichanga - Hornchurch also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Bromley, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to Chimichanga - Hornchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing