We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like its gone downhill”

Osteria Due Fratelli
Ranked #81 of 112 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Family and Child friendly Italian eaterie. Classic setting, with an informal cozy and relaxed ambience . The restaurant is popular for friends and family as well as for an intimate meal in romantic surroundings by candlelight . A set menu is available and offers great value, as well as a very well priced drinks list that has a good selection of Italian wines and beer. Children are always more than welcome.
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“feels like its gone downhill”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We visit here regularly with family who live locally and have always really enjoyed the food, the pasta is especially good.
We visited recently and it was the first time in a while and things seem to have changed and not for the better sadly.

we noticed the set menu had disappeared which was a shame as it was always amazing value. The pizzas we ordered were not that great, quite tough, nothing special. Same with the desserts- small and expensive for what they were. Hopefully it'll pick up again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingermrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osteriaduefratelli, Owner at Osteria Due Fratelli, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, and it is a shame that you were not entirely satisfied. We are looking into the points that you have raised- and thanks for pointing them out to us. Just to let you know, the pizzas are made with freshly prepared dough and the principal desserts are all home-made. The portion size offered to you may have been a mishap, and that is of course our fault- waiting staff would have gladly replaced the item and/ or re-imbursed you if you were not happy with it.
We look into all our customer comments , as it is the best way to improve. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    95
    45
    34
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Real Italian Ambience”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Osteria works so well with a real Italian feel (as opposed to ASK, Zizzi or Prezzo!) and the food is very good also! As well as a very extensive dinner menu, the fixed lunchtime menu offers very good value.

I have noticed that live entertainment has been started at weekend lunchtimes; let's hope that they introduce a swing singer soon which would be perfect....there are a couple of older guys on the Hornchurch circuit but I would suggest they look beyond these to a far more talented younger singer in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible!!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

OMG!!! It is easy to describe the pizza in one word: horrible!!! Poor quality of ingredients used and simply disgusting. It is not a proper Italian place for sure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inda82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osteriaduefratelli, Owner at Osteria Due Fratelli, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the food, and we would have been more than happy to address the issue if raised at the time. With regards to the comments concerning ingredients and potentially pejorative remarks concerning authenticity, the supplier we use is an Italian importer and no issues have to date arisen.
Other comments of yours, have duly been noted. As a matter of principle, we would like to re-imburse you as we would have done so at the time - on the basis of your dissatisfaction (which you are fully entitled to), regardless of the fact that the team of kitchen and waiting staff were performing their duties to their level best with care warmth and hospitality.
Since it appears that we clearly failed you on this occasion, then please email us or call us for a refund- we'll be happy to do so.
Thank you once again.
Osteria Due Fratelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50th”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

excellent food
excellent service
good choice on menu
specials available
comfortable surroundings
clean toilets

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfleet
1 review
“New Years”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous time staff fun fast and friendly wish could go there more often food was and always delicious. Good luck

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Syeda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Due Fratelli also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to Osteria Due Fratelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing