We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job !”

Osteria Due Fratelli
Ranked #83 of 124 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Family and Child friendly Italian eaterie. Classic setting, with an informal cozy and relaxed ambience . The restaurant is popular for friends and family as well as for an intimate meal in romantic surroundings by candlelight . A set menu is available and offers great value, as well as a very well priced drinks list that has a good selection of Italian wines and beer. Children are always more than welcome.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal last night after being told about this little Italian.

We shared a Bruscetta to start as had read that the starters were on the large side.
We followed that with a crab tagliatelle and a spaghetti carbonara
Pasta was fresh and homemade and the sauce was perfectly seasoned with lovely flavours.
For dessert we had the Chocolate soufflé with vanilla ice cream - the dessert was lovely with lots of runny chocolate sauce.
Carafe of wine and a liqueur - £55
Good value - lovely atmosphere with excellent service.

Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 321 of 401 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went to OdF on a date night with the Mrs, although was quite some time ago I can recall we both enjoyed our meals and wine. Was an enjoyable time.

1  Thank JES74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have been a few times over recent years. Always a nice atmosphere but never really enjoyed the food. With limited local choice we went back again. It remains buzzy and the staff seem ok and efficient. We chose the specials, linguini and sword fish. Very good indeed.

Reasonable prices, based on the food would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I visited due fratelli in February with my mother and boyfriend having been there twice before and loved the food and atmosphere.
However, this time was completely different as we are told upon ordering that they have no king prawns, which is in most of their menu.
We ordered and had replacement tiny, definitely microwaved prawns. When the time came to pay my boyfriend told the man that he did not enjoy his meal as it was cold and tasted horrible. He barely touched it. When we refused to pay, we were argued with and the very rude waiter told my boyfriend that he didn't eat it because he had a big starter. Which to me is very rude. As I'm pretty sure the customer is always right?!

So we paid for everything apart from my boyfriends meal although we were almost pressured into paying £14 for someone he didn't enjoy or eat more than a mouthful of.
Also we were reminded countless times what time the kitchen closed as if to usher us out quickly when it was only 10:30.

TERRIBLE SERVICE. We will not be back.
I think you better sort out your waiters as a lot of people I know have had the same complaint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hazzamagazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osteriaduefratelli, Owner at Osteria Due Fratelli, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hello
We have looked into your complaints and it is clear that you were unjustifiably served badly.

The rudeness that you refer to is, for our part, totally our fault and should not be excused.
We wholeheartedly apologise to you as individuals, and to your family as a whole.There was a total lack of professionalism and courtesy shown to you.

As a restaurant, we do not and will not tolerate this.The matter should have been dealt with, and staff have abrogated their duties and responsibilities and even had the audacity to argue with you. We are shocked and shamed.

This was totally unacceptable, and just to re-assure you we will be taking the appropriate action to remedy this gross act of poor customer relations and a violation of common courtesy.

As for the service you received, it has come to light that there was clear discrepancy between the service your table received and other satisfied clientele who had quite the opposite experience.
What a shame, on behalf of the restaurant and management/owner we say sorry for the mistreatment and we say sorry for the poor handling of the situation. In light of this, we insist on re-imbursing you for the full amount of your meal.

Please email us accordingly, we are confident that such problems will be rectified asap as the dedicated majority of staff are committed to ensure incidents like this do not arise.

When and if they do, we appreciate feedback such as yours, it's always unpleasant for us to have paying clientele left unhappy and angry- however we assure you that we do take criticism and we do act on it.

Thank you for your comments, unfortunately nothing was done to remedy the situation at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My sister took me here for birthday and im glad she chose this place.
The night we went it was so busy but that juat adds to the atmosphere, everybody laughing and having a good time.
Food was delicious and fresh. Service even on a busy night was very good. Staff were very polite and still had a laugh and a smile on thier face.
Will definatley be coming back here again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emmascott61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Due Fratelli also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to Osteria Due Fratelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing