We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pre show meal.”

Osteria Due Fratelli
Ranked #80 of 114 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Traditional Family and Child friendly Italian eaterie. Classic setting, with an informal cozy and relaxed ambience . The restaurant is popular for friends and family as well as for an intimate meal in romantic surroundings by candlelight . A set menu is available and offers great value, as well as a very well priced drinks list that has a good selection of Italian wines and beer. Children are always more than welcome.
England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good pre show meal.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Four of us popped in before going to a show at the Queen's theatre, a short walk away. We did book but that was not really necessary for early tuesday.
The food was very good and betwwen us we had a variety of courses, carpaccio,liver,risotto and steak. The only drawback was that some things were not available or we would have given it a better rating. But perhaps thast is tuesday's for you!
The waiter was excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eamesrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    95
    45
    34
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went to this restaurant for a family occasion. 4 adults, and 2 children under 6.
The food options were plenty, something for everyone. The prices, very reasonable. The children were catered for brilliantly, although for the size of the children the portions were big.
The service was quick, but not so much that you felt your were being rushed out.
The food itself was lovey, really very nice. Far better than the other Italian restaurants close by.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rkHPl4yH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, but service leaves a lot to be desired.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The food was great, absolutely no complaints about it, the issue came when we asked for the bill.

It came through wrong, not just a little bit wrong but very wrong, only 2 of the 8 items on the bill were ours. We then had to wait for it to be changed again, another 10 minute wait and it was still wrong, the waiter/manager came over and then got the menu (he had worked out the second incorrect bill himself and was also the person who took our order). He read off what we had ordered and it worked out that it was £6.00 over but we would have to pay the incorrect total and then he would refund it in cash because he didn't have time to redo the whole bill again.

Unfortunately it was too late by then and the evening out ended in disappointment due to this issue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stevem1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osteriaduefratelli, Owner at Osteria Due Fratelli, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hello Steve

Firstly, thank you for visiting us, and for your positive advice which we have taken on board.
However,we are sorry to learn that the bill was so poorly presented to you, and that you unfortunately had to endure some unprofessional service.
At Osteria Due Fratelli, we are constantly training our staff so that mishaps like this do not arise. If they do arise, then there is a proper and set procedure to deal such a scenario.
It is a shame that on the occasion when you visited, that our service was not as as it should have been.

Once again, we trust that your next visit will be more pleasurable, and that we will not let you down.

Thank you
Osteria Due Fratelli Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Really enjoyed late lunch - service was fantastic with authentic Italian waiters who were very attentive. Food was good but little overpriced. On the whole would definitely revisit soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Italian Waiter”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We went there on Saturday for an early one, just before the rush. We had not booked and was met by a charming sweet young lady who took our drinks order. While we were pondering over the menu a couple came in and was enquiring about their table they had booked for latter and the same young lady was dealing with the matter. And then the atmosphere suddenly change. when this maturing waiter was extremely rude to this sweet young girl calling her a name of a female dog, in front of all the customers and the stunned and bemused couple. This obviously spoilt our early evening meal. The food we ordered was the fish stew and pasta with sea food which was excellent. Unfortunately the owner was in Spain and was not available for my comments on the food and the staff. The rest of the staff were friendly and professional and I would recommend this restaurant, but not before confronting the owner on the behaviour of this particular waiter

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renelekonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osteriaduefratelli, Owner at Osteria Due Fratelli, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Sir,

Following the reporting of this unacceptable incident, as you are well aware we have since been in contact with you to establish the facts and confirm that our disciplinary code of conduct were followed through.
As a neighbourhood restaurant , we had taken immediate punitive action.
The dining floor is a place for hospitality, kindness and displays of courtesy at all times to customers and staff.

The sort of behaviour and attitude that occurred on that day is a disgrace,and we do not tolerate it at all.

Yours sincerely
Osteria Due Fratelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Due Fratelli also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to Osteria Due Fratelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing