We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday/Anniversary Meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cranleigh

The Cranleigh
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cranleigh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 108 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Birthday/Anniversary Meal.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Lovely meal at the Cranleigh. I had lobster it was lovely. Plenty of other meals to choose from and they have desserts you've never seen before including fresh fruit. Lovely big strawberries and much more. I can firmly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCranleigh, Manager at The Cranleigh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your time to express your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you in the near future

Kind regards

David Comerford
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    60
    31
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant I know”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have been here for various family birthdays etc and service and food has always been excellent. We recently visited as a school get-together and enjoyed not being rushed so we could have a lovely chat all evening. Lamb Noisettes were delicious, and the dessert trolley even tempted my dessert-resistant husband. Come and try, you won't be disapointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCranleigh, Manager at The Cranleigh, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Many thanks for your encouraging words. I will be certain to pass them onto the team. Our dessert trolley has always been a successful feature and temptation usually gets the better of most. We hope to see you over the festive season

Kind regards

David Comerford
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Why have I never been here before?”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

As per the title, I have lived in the area just about all my life and have never been here before.
I can only say that I have been missing out on the best restaurant in Hornchurch for years.
The food was excellant, the service was brilliant.

We will be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCranleigh, Manager at The Cranleigh, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your time to review The Cranleigh, we are pleased you enjoyed your first experience and look forward to many more.

Kind regards

David Comerford
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagenham
1 review
“5.10.2013 David and Julie Wedding reception”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

To the cranleigh.David and Julie Carter would like to say thankyou so much for making our wedding day exceptional.The reception was all that we could have wished for.You made our day complete.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicagodave1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCranleigh, Manager at The Cranleigh, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and time in complimenting the Cranleigh. We were very happy to be at your service and glad to part of your special day

Enjoy many years to come and some more celebrations here with us at the Cranleigh

Kind regards

David Comerford
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Went here for my 40th. We had a really nice time. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Food is very good and overall I think it is value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tobygeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCranleigh, Manager at The Cranleigh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your time in writing a few nice words, I`m glad we could be part of your 40th celebrations and I will pass on your gratitude to all involved

Kind regards

David Comerford
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cranleigh also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to The Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing