We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon and Brussels sprouts!!!!!”
Review of Duke of Wellington

Duke of Wellington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Duke of Wellington is a busy pub in the heart of Hatfield Peverel. It is just 7 miles outside Chelmsford, and the perfect place for anything from a light lunch to a three course dinner. We have an exstensive wine menu with a range of world wines, and a cask marque for our real ale. Recently rated 4star by the food assosiation and environmental health.
essex england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Salmon and Brussels sprouts!!!!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

oh dear
went as a family for the festive menu, in total 14 of us, I ordered salmon and when it came out it had frozen cook in the oven potatoes with it, carrots, parsnips and brussels sprouts!!!!!
oh dear would not like to go to the chefs cookery school, shame on you for serving it
service was ok

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    64
    41
    39
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“oasis during a storm”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

two of us traveling along the A12 the heavens opened and conditions were bad so we turned off at hatfield peverel.we rang my brother who we were ment to meet elsewhere and arranged to meet in the duke of wellington.what a gem just off the A12.great wecome lovely food special offers on some dishes,lovely pub.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very hit and miss”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I lived in Hatfield Peverel for 27 years and ate at the Duke of Wellington many times. The experience varied hugely - we were never exactly thrilled, but it was usually adequate for ordinary pub food. Soimetimes, though, it was terrible, food badly cooked and awful service. The last time we tried to eat there was in summer 2012, when about 4 managed to completely ignore us (after directing us to a table) for about 15 minutes. Eventually my husband went to the bar, but was again ignored. we left and went to another nearby pub. The problem with the Duke seems to be constantly changing managers - the local word is that the brewery (Greene King) having spent a lot on re-furbing the place, are charging top dollar in rent. Who knows, and frankly, who cares? There are better pubs in the area - if you need something just off the A12, the Six Bells in Boreham is great, and the Wheatsheaf on Maldon Road in Hatfield Peverel is also very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average, average, average”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Average is really all you can say about the pub. It's clean, the food is what you would expect from a chain, staff were a bit grumpy and service wasn't great. Nice beer garden on a sunny day if you don't mind the noise from the A12.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon essex
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Even better than last time”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have used the Duke of Wellington many times on a Friday evening to round off the week and relax into the weekend.

The food this time was even better for a bargain price.

Two meals for £9.95 is, in these days, a bargain but only if the food is good.

The Haddock Florentine (in cheese sauce with spinach) was delicious.

Quick, efficient service with a smile was also on the menu.

'Other half' visited Tuesday evening with a group of mates and found that the Duke holds a quiz night with no entry fee....... they ended up coming second with a prize of a bottle of wine!

The Duke is very handy for a quick meal if you are heading north on the A12, just to the north of Chelmsford. The exit for Hatfield Peverel leads into the road on which the Duke is located and the entrance back on to the A12 is just beyond the Duke.

Highly recommended for a pub meal whatever the time of day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darkangel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Wellington also viewed

 
Hatfield Peverel, Essex
 
Youngs End, Essex
Boreham, Essex
 

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing