We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and accommodating guest house”
Review of Harwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harwood House
Ranked #2 of 8 Great Dunmow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed over for one night with parking for 7 days. Unfortunately we could not take breakfast as our flight was too early. A very comfortable night was had - extremely comfortable bed. Will be booking again in the future - no need to look for anything better. Extremely pleased with transport services to and from airport - absolutely no hassle. This is a good find.

Room Tip: room at the front of the house was light and airy with hardly any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukki54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 308 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having flown regularly from Stansted over the years we've experienced several B&B/parking facilities of varying degrees of (dis)satisfaction, but nothing like Harwood Guest House - so much so that we now consider it to be the first day of our holiday. We arrive there as early as possible on the day before flying so that we can enjoy the lovely garden, and in the evening there is an award-winning real-ale pub/Indian restaurant over the road. Ian and Helen's low-key approach belies an honest desire on their part to make guests feel relaxed and welcome - you do really feel at home. On this latest occasion, as we had a late evening return flight, we'd booked the same room again; anticipating being dehydrated, we had taken a few tinnies down with us that Ian saved in his fridge. As for the breakfasts - forget the usual serve-yourself 'continental' offerings encountered at other places: as much as you can eat of everything ranging from cereals to ginormous Full English. We'd urge any fliers or East Anglian 'staycationers' to spoil themselves with a stop here.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are lighter with big picture windows, but we've no complaints about the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWingco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent overnight stay (including car parking for 12 nights) before flying out from Stanstead. Unfortunately, we left too early for breakfast, but the bed was comfy, nice big room and very good service to and from the airport. Would highly recommend Harwood to anyone looking for airport parking and overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheese18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pam and Ken A
Staying at Harwood Guest House is an extremely pleasant and relaxing experience. We know that Ian and Helen always ensure that our stay with them is well organised and that our transport to and from Stansted Airport runs smoothly. We like to stay at Harwood because of the warm welcome and Ian's excellent breakfast which helps to keep us going until we have reached our destination. We also know that our vehicle is well looked after whilst we are away which is very important to us. We have no hesitation in recommending Harwood Guest House to those who have not been and look forward to staying there many more times in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamandKenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were guests at this beautiful property 22 to 29 August. It's all perfect. The welcome is friendly and very polite. After a while you feel at home. Ian is a quiet person, always smiling, helpful, , very kind. The rooms are spacious, bright, clean. The breakfast is great. We'll have to come back often to Great Dunmow and we hope to always find a free room at the home of Ian and Helen

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is our second year after going to V Festival and they were actually full this time but Ian and Helen gave us their house this time and we can't thank them enough. They go out of their way for you and the breakfasts are amazing!!! Not to mention that they tolerate us at the end of a night after V festival. These guys are the best hosts EVER!!

Room Tip: If you want to go to V festival and don't want to camp then you should go and stay with these gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keely H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at this lovely guest house and wanted to write a review straight away. As soon as we walked in we were made to feel so welcome by Helen & Ian. Our room was lovely, big & very clean. They were so busy while we were there but it didn't stop them making everything very personal. They knew every single guest and remembered exactly what they liked for breakfast. The breakfast was gorgeous and the dining room also very homely. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and would not hesitate to return in the future. Thank you so much Helen & Ian, you made it so much more than a couple of nights in a b&b. Paul & Kerry.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Dunmow
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,926 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunmow Guest House
Dunmow Guest House
#1 of 8 in Great Dunmow
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast
Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Great Dunmow
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stables at The Star Inn
The Stables at The Star Inn
#1 of 3 in Great Dunmow
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harwood House

Address: 52 Stortford Road | near Stansted Airport, Great Dunmow CM6 1DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Great Dunmow
Price Range: $85 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harwood House offers bed & breakfast accommodation only a few miles from Stansted Airport. A short walk from shops, pubs and restaurants, friendly welcome guaranteed; a comfortable, relaxing night's sleep and delicious home-cooked breakfast. The owner is a licensed taxi driver and provides a park and fly service, call for a quote. All bedrooms en-suite with Freeview TV, free wireless internet access, guest conservatory, guest lounge and license to serve alcohol. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harwood House Great Dunmow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing