We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”
Review of Harwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harwood House
Ranked #2 of 8 Great Dunmow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Harwood Guest House on returning from our holiday late at night (and to park our car whilst we were away) and also to attend a wedding the next day! Ian (the Proprietor) was absolutely brilliant, he was so helpful throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for him and he has a great sense of humour. His breakfast is amazing and extremely tasty and Maisie who worked there was very courteous and helpful. Ian transported us to the airport and back again and even to our wedding venue. Great value for money B&B with parking and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 311 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at this guest house due to attending a wedding just down the road!! Ian (the proprietor) was a perfect host from start to finish! He has an amazing sense of humour! He also has a minibus & ferried us to & from wedding venue at a very reasonable price!! His breakfast was brilliant. Real good English!! Will definately recommend to friends. Thankyou Ian.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here overnight in late September and left our car on the premises for 10 nights. It is ideally located to the pleasant village of Great Dunmow where there are plenty of places to eat and drink. The owners live next door and are very helpful, courteous and professional, we will certainly return when flying from Stanstead.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WORCSCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, rooms good size, nicely furnished, clean and a comfy bed. Breakfast very nice.
Staff friendly and helpful. Good for a short stay or using it as a stop over for Stansted Airport.
Never heard any moving about from guests leaving for the airport at funny times.
All in all recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulJarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Ok stayed here 3 nights in july. Its got 7 bedrooms, we got the best room the one that has been done up massive tv etc lovely room. Its like living in essex, wanted to go to essex because of towie. So yeah basically had the house to ourselfs for only £72 a night there was other guests which where hardly ever there. Village was lovely.

Was quite far away from everything that we wanted to do, brentwood etc.
The breakfast was amazing, they come find you and ask what you want for breakfast everyday i had scrambled eggs on toast:')
Its very homely like family pictures everywhere, nice garden. emm the only 'bad' things wrong where they seemed annoyed that we were very late on arrival, and they said anyone can use the house phone. I used it for like 2mins and they came round because i was using the phone.....after that i think they unplugged it or something :L

They are defo a family b&b and prefer like families

Room Tip: ask for the room that has been done up :L
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was a pleasure staying there and both Ian and Helen were the loveliest of hosts and really helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay there again. The gArden was outstanding especially with the amazing weather we have had and the beds were really comfy

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keely0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Its a B&B. Very friendly and clean. Slightly dated and needs some upgrading in places. Carpets in the entrance area are decor need modernised in my opinion. A good nights sleep and hearty breakfast were enjoyed. It did what we wanted it to. The welcome, food and sleep quality are 5 star.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Dunmow
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,985 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dunmow Guest House
Dunmow Guest House
#1 of 8 in Great Dunmow
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast
Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Great Dunmow
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stables at The Star Inn
The Stables at The Star Inn
#1 of 3 in Great Dunmow
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harwood House

Address: 52 Stortford Road | near Stansted Airport, Great Dunmow CM6 1DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Great Dunmow
Price Range: $84 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harwood House offers bed & breakfast accommodation only a few miles from Stansted Airport. A short walk from shops, pubs and restaurants, friendly welcome guaranteed; a comfortable, relaxing night's sleep and delicious home-cooked breakfast. The owner is a licensed taxi driver and provides a park and fly service, call for a quote. All bedrooms en-suite with Freeview TV, free wireless internet access, guest conservatory, guest lounge and license to serve alcohol. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harwood House Great Dunmow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing