We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Great Dunmow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
banbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent stay”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

the host was excellent and the accomodation is very clean and just what was wanted. the host is very welcoming and can accomodate most requests and serves upp an excellent breakfast. I thoroughly recomend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tractorsjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
27
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March for our son's wedding at nearby Maidens Barn. We booked one of the apartments and we were very impressed with the high standard of accommodation. Jane warmly welcomed us. The apartment was lovely and warm and extremely well equipped, with a full size cooker, microwave and fridge. A lovely homemade loaf of bread and milk awaited us. Lovely bathroom, the shower was a wet-room area, which was brilliant. Toiletries and bathrobe also supplied. Everything was lovely and clean. Friends also stayed for 1 night in the B&B and were extremely pleased with their room and huge breakfast. Free Wi-Fi as well. Puttocks Farm is in a good location with plenty of parking, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We chose Puttocks as a base to cycle in the Essex countryside - beautiful villages and quiet lanes. We were delighted with the self- catering accommodation. Everything was spotlessly clean, comfortable and with lots of attention to detail. The shower was excellent and there were nice touches like a bath robe and toiletries. The home made bread was delicious.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a view of the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed at Puttocks Farm several times, and it never fails to please at every level. We go to meet family back in our home county of Essex. The B&B is excellent value, the rooms are really well appointed, spacious and quiet, and Roger and Jane work very hard to maintain their high standards and ensure comfort. There is plenty of local information in each room, about places of interest, restaurants and pubs. The breakfast is always good, home cooked locally produced bacon and eggs, with a great selection of cereals, yoghourts etc, and local preserves. We always spend a bit of time over breakfast but never feel rushed, and it's always a great start to the day. We are looking forward to going again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue-gentian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Chose Puttocks Farm due to it's proximity to a wedding venue. Delighted to find a clean cosy room on a picturesque Essex farm. As a bonus, Roger and Jane were extremely friendly and made a lovely full English breakfast. Would highly recommend this family-run B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed here a few times when working in the area and can thoroughly recommend to others.

The rooms are clean and tidy, with ample parking directly outside your chalet style room.

I always look to stay here when working in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cisterna di Latina, Italy
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We was on this farm because we miss a flight on Stansted airport so we stay only for few hous in the night. The farmer is very kind, and allowed us to use pc to book a new flight and he reserved for us a taxi in the night. The room was clean and warm, and the position is perfect to reach the airport. Very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Dunmow
2.0 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
6.8 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dunmow Guest House
Dunmow Guest House
#1 of 8 in Great Dunmow
156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harwood House
Harwood House
#2 of 8 in Great Dunmow
294 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homelye Farm Courtyards
Homelye Farm Courtyards
#5 of 8 in Great Dunmow
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Puttocks Farm Philpot End, Great Dunmow CM6 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Great Dunmow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable accommodation is provided in ground floor units in a converted barn and comprises two double and two twin rooms, all of which can take an extra bed or cot. All rooms have en-suite facilities. Ample parking. Free wi-fi. Guests enjoy a hearty full English breakfast in the conservatory which has stunning panoramic views of the surrounding Essex Countryside. We also have three self catering apartments, each with a double bedroom with ensuite and a lounge/dining area. On site laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puttocks Farm Bed & Breakfast Great Dunmow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing