We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful farm before flight out”
Review of Blatches Farm

Blatches Farm
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blatches Farm
Ranked #5 of 8 Great Dunmow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful farm before flight out”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Very relaxing night at this family run farm. Close to Great Dunmow which is a lovely historic market town with thatched roofs and merchant houses. We ate at an Indian restaurant recommended by the farm, top stuff!

They serve one of the best breakfast selections I've ever seen in the UK! A good start to keep me going through airports etc. Their friendly dog and farm cats come and say hi when you walk to the breakfast room too. A real homely experience.

Rooms had big, comfy beds and nice, hot showers. Good touch with cappuccino and biscottis in the room too!

My tip for parking is one of the highly rated non-official airport locations. Just do a search as taxis can be expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamtheanimator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
44
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were invited to a wedding in Billericay and having had a bad experience with a Premier Inn, we decided to look for something a bit less 'chainy'. This place is a little gem! They had our room ready for us at 10:30am, even though they were still on breakfast service when we arrived. The room was absolutely spotless, beautifully finished and well equipped, and the bed was huge!!!! We had a comfortable nights sleep and woke to a fabulous breakfast, with sausages made from their own piggies and a lovely friendly service! I cannot believe it was the price they charged. If we need to be in that area again, I would book it in a shot! Just fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Used this place as attending a wedding nearby. The welcome couldn't have been more friendly. All the rooms are in a nicely converted barn across from the main farmhouse. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast was very good and tasty. Overall fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjw1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wanted a base for the weekend just for relaxation and nice food. Originally looked around local areas but then found this hidden beauty with a fishing pond - a hobby my partner hasn't done for years. The cottages are large enough with a huge bed and perfect bathroom with walk in shower. There were a few animals on the farm but what do you expect?! They were incredibly friendly and even made me overcome my fear of cats! They were as friendly as the warm owners.
Breakfast was heavenly with most ingredients from the farm.
Isn't located in a village itself but is a £10 taxi ride to Dunmow or a 5 minute drive to Stebbing where there is a pub. Dunmow has a wide selection of restaurant and pubs.
Perfect weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollaFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We attended a wedding reception at a nearby venue and stayed for one night- it was perfect. Very accommodating when we were unsure of our arrival time, very comfortable rooms and beds, clean with a lovely surrounding area. Beautiful cooked breakfast and friendly hosts made it a lovely stay. I couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckingham UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent room, breakfast, couldn't ask for more. Good free internet. Compfy bed. Everything I needed was already provided. Good value for area. Highly recommended. Very friendly couple running B&B. Stayed whilst on a local woodland management course. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smsimp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just stayed for one night and I have been driven to write my first ever review on here! The welcome could not have been warmer, the room was in what might be converted stables a short distance from the house (so you don't feel like you're intruding in someone's home, always a drawback of B&Bs!). The bed was huuuge and super comfy, plenty of storage, very clean and modern whilst still being cosy. The bathroom was lovely and the little touches like shower caps, cards for local taxi companies and instant cappuccino really added to the experience. Our host asked us what time we would like breakfast and was very accommodating - the food was quick, hot and decent quality, and they know how to cook properly crispy bacon on request. Really pleasantly surprised and we are looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyK2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Dunmow
2.5 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Harwood House
Harwood House
#2 of 8 in Great Dunmow
296 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dunmow Guest House
Dunmow Guest House
#1 of 8 in Great Dunmow
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Felsted
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blatches Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blatches Farm

Property: Blatches Farm
Address: Blatches Farm Braintree Road | Stebbing, Great Dunmow CM6 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Great Dunmow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blatches Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blatches Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blatches Farm Great Dunmow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing