We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly staff”
Review of The Crown House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown House
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good value and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

There are not a lot of hotels around Saffron Walden and this is conveniently placed. The room in the stable block was very pleasant if unexceptional but with a large very comfortable bed. Evening meals all table d'hote - my wife's duck was rather tough and both that and my coq au vin lacked flavour. Breakfast cooked to order, very good, but limited buffet selection. Service a bit haphazard - especially at breakfast; eg requesting missing butter led to a casual tossing of some butter packs onto the table. Very friendly staff nevertheless. Not the standard of many years ago, but good value overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    46
    21
    8
    16
See reviews for
37
70
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at the Crown House for a short weekend with my girlfriend, could not recommend a stay at this hotel anymore. Lovely room, great food and really helpful staff who upgraded us to a better room just because there was one available! Will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshduhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here in a groupon deal our room in the stable block was really comfy and quiet. We had dinner at the plough up the road which has amazing burgers. Breakfast in the morning was lovely with good service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLARE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the stable rooms, clean and well furnished. The main hotel was lovely, the food served was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly and could not be more helpful, will certainly be interested in going back in the future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have just celebrated my mother's 90th birthday in the beautiful Georgian room at the hotel. Tina and her staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent and the attention to detail with candles and fresh flowers on the tables was perfect for the occasion. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel and particularly the Georgian room for a family function.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORSET
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here on a 1 night groupon deal and were so happy we booked a 2nd night. The room was warm and comfortable with everything we needed. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent, breakfast was also of a very high standard. The main building is charming and full of character and every member of staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. Only a few small niggles: firstly the breakfast room which is in a conservatory was rather chilly first thing; the shower in our room (7) needs upgrading (it was just about adequate but had poor flow and temperature was inconsistent); finally we were woken at 1:30 am on the second night by the guest in the room next to ours who decided to practice his opera singing, whilst having a bath. I realise that such things are beyond the control of the management, but it did indicate how thin the walls were, so some sound-proofing might be in order. Otherwise we had a delightful stay and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room 7 is in the stable block. It is a good-sized comfortable room with a large bed and a nice sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMYSHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked up for a post new year break on a Groupon deal, and found this hotel amazing value for money.

We found the hotel staff very helpful and friendly, the food excellent (dinner was lovely and the cooked breakfast huge!!), and the room adequate for our needs. The village of Great Chesterford is quite small, but we visited nearby Saffron Walden for afternoon tea during the day, and had a lovely couple of hours in the Great Chesterford Pub The Plough in the evening which was very nice.

All in all this proved a lovely break and highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeanKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Chesterford
8.1 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
321 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
3.4 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 13 in Saffron Walden
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown House

Property: The Crown House
Address: Newmarket Road, Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden CB10 1NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden > Great Chesterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Chesterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Crown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown House Hotel Great Chesterford
The Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel Great Chesterford
The Crown House Great Chesterford, Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing