We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Up”
Review of Pontlands Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pontlands Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“On the Up”
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We have stayed at Pontlands Park many times as it was the best of a pretty ordinary bunch of hotels in the Brentwood/Chelmsford area. But over the last year or so, it had really picked up its game and it would now be somewhere we would choose to stay.

We stayed in a deluxe room on the 1st floor which was bright, airy and spacious, with nice new white duvet covers offset by a gold comforter and cushions adding to the pleasant decor. Bathroom gleaming as usual with nice big fluffy towels. Free wi-fi in all rooms is an added bonus.

We used the Leisure Club pool (still the same time restrictions on kids use of pool, but hey ho) which were good, two pools in fact plus jacuzzi and hot tubs).

Evening meal was table d'hote with some nice choices - nice lemon sole, but the eton mess dessert was the highlight. Our 8 yo was thrilled with his penne pasta as it came with separate dishes of sauce and cheese for him to DIY - perfect!

Breakfast buffet next day was in the conservatory, stocks a bit depleted but there was a good choice of hot and cold items, though yoghurts could be more interesting than the usual cheap low fat supermarket fare. My only real negative was that, being a business notel in the week, there is always soon bozo on the mobile while eating breakfast - common courtesy way would suggest they might step out but no, these guys are so neanderthal that it probably never occurs to them. The hotel should have a policy but probably does not want to rock the boat.

We stayed on a night when they had a function (they almost always do) in their marquee but as promised when we booked, there was no noise disruption for us on the opposite side of the hotel - but make sure you get a room in the right place if you want a good night's sleep.

So forget the older more negative reviews, with a few minor niggles, this place is good and reasonably priced if you get the corporate rate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    94
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
113
116
6
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

My son had his wedding reception here and family members travelled from all parts of Ireland/Europe and England to attend. Many of us stayed as guests as well as attending the reception. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough to help. We made last minute request for example, chair covers. They phoned a couple of contacts and got us a good deal the day before the wedding, keeping in touch with us by mobile to let us know how it was going. All our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The wedding reception was excellent. The meal was delicious and well served by attentive staff. Everyone who stayed and attended the wedding had a great time and I would definately recommend this hotel for a wedding. We had a memorable and excellent time here at this lovely hotel

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

We stayed at Portlands Park Hotel as part of a 50th birthday party. We know the area quite well already due to family connections and this is the first time we have stayed at this hotel. It is situated in a fantastic location just off the A12 in extensive grounds giving the impression of being out in the country when in fact you are only a short distance from a main road and Chelmsford itself.
The hotel has bags of character and on arrival the staff were very friendly. Our room was situated in a modern extention away from the old building itself. The room was very large and extremely clean with good facilities such as tea, coffee, trouser press and room safe.
Although we were attending a private party at the hotel, the staff were serving food all evening and were very friendly and polite. In the morning were have an extremely good self service breakfast with all you could wish to eat. Again the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall I have to say that if you are staying in the Chelmsford area and want somewhere special to stay at a reasonable price then I would certainly recomend this hotel.

  • Liked — Large fresh bedroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petersuffolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Upon arriving your first obstacle is managing the oddly arranges large flower tubs in the car park, once this is achieved you can enter the gothic doorway into the hotel.

Your immediately meet with a shabby reception area, wires pens bits of paper galore.

The rather cold unpleasant receptionist informed me that I didn’t have a booking; all I could do was pass the email conformation and hope for pity. My room was “blue” the bed was lumpy and a number of white stains could clearly be seen on the bed. Luckily complaining was no problem as I was directly above reception, the reception phone can be heard very clearly along with conversations which continue until the early hours of the morning. The free view was not working and the "free" wi-fi did not reach my room.

I ate in the dated stuffy and hot restaurant, the menu “brief”, I was delighted to see duck in orange sauce, took me right back to 1980’s. which was also possibly the last time the dried flowers were dusted.

The Pool seemed clean and the staff were helpful, however the club members are not welcoming and taking a dip in the pool seem to insult there southern sensibilities, the pool areas are purely for exercise and not for enjoyment.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast, good luck in finding a clean table, you could always play find the staff to take your mind off things until you leave. If you find one try not to upset them a this will add to your unpleasant stay

Good luck

  • Liked — the iron
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TrickyDickyMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

An old hotel badly needs renovating, booked to attend wedding locally and wished to avoid Stanstead Airport hotels - a big mistake.

Booked executive room upgraded to suite, rooms old and beds a total joke, small hard and by todays standards unacceptable.

Extra £25.00 charge for checking in early?

Avoid if you can....

  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We stayed while visiting friends at Christmas, and enjoyed every minute. Nothing was to much trouble no matter how busy the hotel and staff were. Our room was large and comfortable. We will return.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — old bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu-PotEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2006

This moderate large sized guest house looks great. The English architecture is appealing to the eye.
The reception staff were courteous but not overly friendly. We inquired about eating on check in at about 2100 but we were told we could only eat in our rooms. We tried to get a drink at the bar, but we were told that it was reserved for a Christmas party.
The night security rolled his eyes up to heaven when we asked what time breakfast was at (we arrived back from town at 0200 - but we were well behaved!)
The pool and gym facilities were poor.
The rooms were very spacious, including the bathroom.
Breakfast buffet was good.

To be honest, I did not really feel welcome at the Pontlands, which is a shame.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie.ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Baddow
4.3 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
366 reviews
4.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,503 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
718 reviews
13.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontlands Park

Property: Pontlands Park
Address: West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford CM2 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford > Great Baddow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontlands Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontlands Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontlands Park Great Baddow, UK - Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing