We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful afternoon tea”
Review of Pontlands Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pontlands Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon tea”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first time to Pontlands park hotel. We were given a lovely present of an afternoon tea which we enjoyed today.
The location is fabulous and we were met by 2 members of the team today.
The afternoon tea was first class and the cakes were lovely and home made.
After our afternoon tea, we were shown the hotel rooms and the menus. after seeing these rooms, menus etc, we will looking at booking up a stay very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrym123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review following your visit to Pontlands Park for Afternoon Tea.
We pride ourselves on our high standards of food and service and it is always rewarding to know that customers appreciate this and all of the effort that has gone in to the massive refurbishment we have carried out.

I'm pleased that the staff showed you all we have to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    94
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
113
116
6
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice and quiet rooms. Staff was friendly and I felt really welcome. Location is "OK" = a little remote location and if you wish to take a walk, there is a long run to the nearest town / shops. Otherwise quiet and cosy, nicely maintained surroundings and a perfect place for sales people on the road, who, like I, need to wind-off before the next day's challenges :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren_M189524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Pontlands Park.
Most people find our location on the outskirts of the City of Chelmsford to be a bonus, it allows them to be close enough that they can be in the centre in 5 minutes by car but at the same time offering a more relaxing and peaceful atmosphere which I'm glad you enjoyed.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a welcome break for myself and my wife. We attended the most amazingly presented black tie function and booked to stay the night rather than drive home. I had previously stayed in another hotel in Chelmsford before and it was very noisy and disappointing. This was definately not the case this time. Amazingly this Country Manor house hotel is set in beautiful rural surroundings and yet it is only 5 minutes from the city centre. Wonderful 4 poster bed, immaculately clean, excellent food and both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The breakfast is 2nd to none. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will hopefully be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Try the newly refurbished luxury double room. first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott and kerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Pontlands Park.
If you had a four poster bed you obviously stayed in one of our recently refurbished Feature Rooms, I'm pleased you enjoyed it, we have received many compliments on these rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you, and anyone you recommend us to, again very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the most perfect Wedding at Pontlands Park, the newly refurbished Bridal suite is out of this world, luxury, comfort and plenty of room. The staff were very attentive, food was excellent, we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, we could not have asked for more.
Great food, ambience, newly decorated, just perfect.
A big thank you to Jason, Jonathan and the team, you made our day very special.
I would highly recommend Pontlands Park :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent wedding at Pontlands Park.
It was a pleasure to host the event and even though we couldn't organise the weather I am glad everything else went as planned and I will make sure the team see your comments.

Wishing you a very happy life together and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pontlands Park again in the future.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night while on business in the area. As a weary buisness traveller all i needed was a comfy bed & good food.

I was welcomed by a friendly receptionist and my room (26) was really lovely, recently refurbished, very roomy with a big bathroom and come morning a very pretty countryside view. The room service menu was varied and the food arrived promptly and was hot and very tasty.

There was a problem with my television (due to the recent bad weather) but the porter could not have been more helpful and replaced it with one from an empty room - no fuss just good service

Breakfast was efficient and a good choice on the buffet

i would recommend this hotel anyone - nothing fancy just great service

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room - not all have been done yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Pontlands Park.
Is it always a pleasure to know guests have left satisfied, enjoyed their stay and been well looked after by the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My parents were over from Spain to visit family and as we live in Chelmsford I booked them a five night stay at Pontlands park - they can't stop talking about it!!! The hotel was amazing, set in the country side, spacious rooms which were decorated to the highest standard with amazing views across open fields. The hotel hosted a fantastic new lounge/bar area where they could sit in comfort, relax and read the paper, enjoy pre dinner drinks and even have a relaxing lunch or afteernoon T. As they were there over the weekend we booked a Sunday lunch for 4 adults and two children in the conservatory restaurant. A well laid out buffet for starters or main followed by a fabulous carvery with a good choice of meats. The deserts were ................ amazing!!! Can't wait to go back for more!!!
As for the staff - you won't find better, very friendly, polite and can't do enough to make your stay one to remember. My parents are already planning to go back there the next time they are in the uk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing Pontlands Park for your parents stay and also for the lovely review.
It was a pleasure to read that they thoroughly enjoyed their time with us and were well looked after, I will make sure that the staff have seen your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your parents back in the near future.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Dear Pontlands Park,

We just wanted to drop you a line to say a huge Thank you for our fantastic Wedding Day on Friday 2 November 2012, with special thanks to Peter, Nathan, Dan and serving team for all their efforts and kindness. Please thank Chef and kitchen team too as the food was superb and we have already recieved many positive comments about both the meal (roast potatoes were fab!) and buffet.

I didn't have to worry about a thing as the staff were so attentive and the day was perfect, you even arranged the sunshine. When I walked into the Conservatory it looked stunning and took my breath away. Thanks also to Jonathan and Collette for all their preparatory work and endless patience.

I'm sure we'll see you all again soon as some of our guests are already talking about making bookings with you.


Kind regards,

Marion & Steve

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoonerSteve21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words following your recent wedding at Pontlands Park.
I am pleased that you liked the newly refurbished Conservatory and cloakrooms which were finished just 2 days before your wedding.
I will make sure all of the staff see your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the near future.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Baddow
4.3 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
366 reviews
4.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,499 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
718 reviews
13.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontlands Park

Property: Pontlands Park
Address: West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford CM2 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford > Great Baddow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontlands Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontlands Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontlands Park Great Baddow, UK - Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing