We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontlands Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pontlands Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nearly great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed two nights and the room we had was extremely nice. It had every facility, was very clean, large and comfortable. The hotel staff are marvellous - extremely friendly and helpful. Where the hotel let itself down was the service in the restaurant and the quality of the food was mixed. We had dinner there on one night and were the only ones in the restaurant on a Saturday night - there were six of us and one other couple. It was very cold to the extent that one or two of kept our coats on. There were lovely log fires, but they had to open the doors to let the smoke out!!! It was about -2 outside!!! The food we had a dinner was good, but the service was poor - we received our vegetables after we had finished eating and we had to eat quickly so the food didn't get cold!

At breakfast on the Sunday there was a lovely buffet and couldn't fault it - it was excellent and because it was a buffet, service wasn't an issue. However, on Monday morning, there was no buffet, so we had to rely on service. We had to wait 20 minutes to order and I did not get what I had ordered. You had to help yourself to tea and coffee, which was fine, but there was no hot water, so had to ask for it. There were no napkins on the table so had to pinch a couple from another table because once we had got served after another 20 minutes, we didn't see anyone again for another 20 mins. My breakfast was luke warm, eggs were hard, bacon was cold.

It was a strange hotel because why not have a buffet every day? Why light log fires just before you know guests are arriving for dinner? Why is everywhere so cold in the main areas? The bedrooms were warm by the way so no complaint there.

I could give this hotel an excellent rating, but it needs a few tweaks, attention to detail and some thought given as to what they would like if they were staying in a hotel. The tweaks would not involve spending money (except perhaps for heating!).

One excellent thing about this hotel is the location as it is set in its own grounds which are lovely and the hotel itself is very quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and all of the comments you have made about your visit, it is a shame that you didn't bring some of these issues to the attention of the management during your stay so we could have responded personally.
The poor service is inexcusable and the team have let you and me down by not meeting your expectations and I am looking in to this.
With regards to the heating I am sorry to hear that there were issues. We had been heating the building 24/7 but the temperatures had been incredibly low and unfortunately this coincided with some work in the week before you arrived to take down an external wall to open up in to our newly built extension, leaving some areas of the building more exposed than usual.
I am however glad that you considered us to almost excellent and would like you to let me know when you are next in the area so that I can show you how the venue has changed and our usual excellent service and ambiance.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    88
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
107
108
6
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent last weekend at the hotel to celebrate my husband's 35th birthday and to get out of London. My 4 year old son joined us as well. We had such a lovely relaxing time. It felt like we were home. I cannot compliment the staff enough, in every dept.
The hotel is being renovated and we were lucky to have one of the new rooms which was enormous!!! The Reflections Spa next door has two indoor swimming pools which is free for hotel guests so my son was in heaven.
We had a fantastic meal in the hotel restaurant which is just as good as any top London restaurant.
The breakfast was yummy as well.
The bathroom even had a little pull out washing line for all the wet swimwear which was very handy.
We had lots of snow overnight and were very happy to find the guys cleaned off our car ready for us to depart.
Thanks to all the staff but Peter and Kevin were exceptional.
Cannot wait to go and visit again in the summer.

Room Tip: They are busy revamping all the rooms but ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanitaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for your very kinds words about the hotel and the staff.
I am glad that you enjoyed your newly refurbished room, these are proving to be very popular. It is great to hear that despite the weather you still had a great time and that the staff did all they could do make your time with us as enjoyable as possible.
As you probably noticed we are making even more changes and late in the spring our new lounge/bar and restaurant will open, we are very excited about it and look forward to showing it to you when you return in the summer.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had our wedding reception at pontlands park and also stayed the night in one of there bridal suites,the hotel is lovely and we had such a warm welcome from the staff,the food was out of this world and all our guests commented on how amazing the day was and so relaxed,just what a nervous bride needs,we would recommend this hotel as one of the nicest places we have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
It was lovely to read the review of your recent wedding at the hotel, I'm glad we helped make your day special and that you and your guests all had a fantastic time, your comments have been relayed to all of the team.
we look forward to welcoming you back tot he hotel in the future.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is clean, tidy, well managed, in a nice area and great value for money. The staff are tremendously friendly and helpful, our room was huge and I honestly can't find a bad thing to say.
TOP MARKS!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
It is always a pleasure to read such lovely comments about the hotel, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just finsished a 3 day stay at Pontlands for a team offsite. For the price it was excellent - good breakfast; great dinner. Multi-national Staff all friendly. Meeting room was a bit dated but perfectly adequate and catering for the meeting was great.

we are going to use this for future events and for accomodating company guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungoverAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write following your recent stay.
I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us will be returning in the future.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel really surprised me - it really exceeded my expectations. I stayed in one of their feature rooms (room 50) which has recently been refurbished and it's equisite. It's one of the best equipped rooms i've stayed in - for the price. The room was huge with a glorious four poster and lovely couches and stools. The room was really well designed so all my needs were catered for - a large dressing area with tea making facilities and two full length mirrors. A cute little desk with a mirror which doubles up as dressing table with plenty of lights, sockets for laptops etc and a decent hairdryer provided. Nice flat screen tv with decent satelite channels oh and also an ipod docking station/clock radio which is a nice touch. The bathroom is beautiful - a hug bath and a walk in shower - nice modern design and well equipped
Finally on to the food - wow! I ordered room service because I was working and i often order room service, I had a lovely cajun chicken on skewer with salad filled pitta and home made tatsiki - it was divine - some of the best room service I have had!
I ordered continental breakfast in the room and again - really fab - beautifully presented and well equipped with virtually every jam you can think of. Lovely little mini croissant, pain au raisin and pain au chocolat - tiny but equisitie and warm just out of the oven. incredible attention to detail. I didnt try any of the other facilities so cant comment on those and didnt sit in the restaurant but the room and the room service was amazing - I would throughly recommend this hotel - its a real find.

Room Tip: Room 50 and 56 feature rooms are lovely. Wireless is a bit weak in room 50 though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Pontlands Park and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
A lot of time and effort went in to the design of the bedrooms to ensure that they made a stay with us as enjoyable and easy as possible and I'm glad you appreciated the little extra details that we hoped would make people want to come back to us time and time again.
You may have noticed during your stay that we were doing some further extensions and improvements to the public areas within the hotel and by late spring we will have a new lounge, bar and restaurant, all designed with the same customer experience in mind.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We have sent clients to Pontlands Park Hotel many times and the staff are always so professional and friendly, the Manager Jonathon is lovely to work alongside and makes sure that everyone is well looked after and catered for. We highly recommend this hotel. They are currently having the bedrooms refurbished and look wonderful.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms away from reception are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL-Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of Pontlands Park and I am glad that Jonathan and the team always ensure that you and your guests enjoy your time with us.
It is a pleasure to hear that you like the refurbished bedrooms, we are very proud of them, we will be continuing the refurbishment of the bedrooms and some of the public areas during 2012 and look forward to showing you the changes.
Happy New Year and many thanks for your continued custom.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Baddow
4.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
14.5 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
16.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
2.7 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontlands Park

Property: Pontlands Park
Address: West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford CM2 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford > Great Baddow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontlands Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pontlands Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontlands Park Great Baddow, UK - Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing