We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A difficult benchmark for others to match.”

Haywards Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Epping
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A difficult benchmark for others to match.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our visit to this restaurant was for a long-awaited family celebration and Haywards made the occasion memorable. The chef and his team have clearly had excellent training and considerable experience. Every dish was a delight in both appearance and taste. Front-of-house staff were all equally impressive in their skilled, friendly service and knowledge about the food and wines. Considerable thought has gone into the décor which combines superb style with comfort and a relaxing atmosphere.

This is genuinely fine dining at remarkably reasonable cost and it was difficult to think how our meals could have been any better. If Haywards keep up this standard they are going to provide a difficult benchmark for others to match.'

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon1ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    54
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
harlow, essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place, Amazing Food!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I found this restaurant whilst doing a search for somewhere to go for my husbands 50th (September '13). What a find! Amanda couldnt be more helpful when booking, and sorting out a birthday cake for our party (there were 2 birthdays in our party of 8!!...)
When we arrived, it was amazing. Lovely place nicely done up, and great atmosphere. The food was absolutely to die for, we had little amuse bouche in between the courses too which were lovely. The bread was plentiful and great too!
The menu was great and had something for everyone - and the flavours were fantastic. Special mention to the lovely french waiter we had as well very attentive and very good
I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to anyone, and hope to return one day soon!
Keep up the great work Amanda and all involved - you have created a masterpiece!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank greek_claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unexpected find!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant while out for the day in Epping Forest. What a treat! Excellent food, attentive service and some thoughtful touches. The home made mint ice cream was fantastic! The toilets are worth a visit as well! Thoroughly recommended. Would imagine you would need to book if you wanted dinner. We had lunch and are definitely going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissJanuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing lunch!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ate at the Haywards for lunch when visiting London recently and had one of the best meals of our trip. The food was exceptionally creative and beautifully presented. Amanda and her team made us feel very welcome and had excellent knowledge of all the dishes and the wine. All the dishes were suburb - the kohlrabi was full of flavour and beautifully presented. Equally the hake was perfectly cooked and the potatoes from the garden were miles above your average spud. The creative play on carrot cake for desert was the perfect balance between sweetness and savoury of the carrot. Would highly recommend making the trip down from London just for a meal at the Hayward's...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I keep my views on places I go to to myself as I always think that likes and dislikes are based on personal taste but I felt compelled to share my thoughts following lunch today. Haywards is a little diamond hidden away in Epping and a place you definitley want others to hear about so they can experience it too. It's obvious that there's been a lot of thought gone into the menu and the food served was superb, complimented by the excellent service. Even my 20 yr old son who's a pot noodle and burger connoisseur thoroughly enjoyed what he had and he also learnt about the food he was served. We couldn't have felt more welcome and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haywards Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haywards Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing