We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Epping

“A mixed bag”

The Talbot Harvester
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #53 of 68 Restaurants in Epping
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At The Talbot Harvester in Epping food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Epping, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Harlow, Chipping Ongar and Moreton, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Booked here to have lunch before going off to a family gathering. The waitress was very pleasant and we had a nice table by the window. Was given dirty salad bowls which were replaced but we were a bit put off. Kids food was fine and they enjoyed it and were decent sized portions. I had a vegetarian option which was also nice. My husband's roast looked grim though. Aunt Bessies or similar frozen roast potatoes and shrivelled veg. Apparently the pork belly was nice. Overall nothing terrible but we wouldn't rush to go back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Kayleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Talbot Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Kayleigh C, thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we did! My team and I would like to thank you for your kind words and we hope you will be back soon. Sincerely, Ifama, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 352 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2020

Wow. Shocking. And somewhat sassy customer service from our waitress LORNA. Straight away on arrival she was awfully unpleased to see us and seat us. Maybe she’s had a bad day? Or week? She didn’t have to say anything because it shone through her body language and service. Walked off randomly while mid way taking our order , took our plates while we were talking and without asking if finnished and again all with a very unhappy I hate my job and don’t want to be here face. The food was alright. Nothing special . When leaving we walked past the waitress LORNA who failed to say goodbye and thank you even though she Stood and watched us leave.

Please can somebody here re assess this particular restaurant/pubs customer service .

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 33nog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Talbot Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Hi 33nog, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We appreciate your review and hope you will give us another chance to restore your faith in Harvester very soon. Sincerely, Ifama, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Visited this restaurant for a family birthday celebration just after Christmas and I am still getting over just how bad it was. Really disappointing as some of us are regular customers but wont be back again, I am writing this review as feel compelled to prevent anyone else having to go through this. First of all the whole restaurant stunk as there was clearly an issue with the toilets that was spilling over into the dining area. During the visit we clocked a lady still wearing her chefs whites going into the same toilets without taking them off! Pretty sure this is a serious health hazard when working in a commercial kitchen. It was after the starters that things really took a turn for the worse. The mains then took over an hour to come out and when they did were dry, burnt and tasted awful like had been on a hot plate for a long time. We were advised after waiting all that time that one of the menu items was not available so have no idea why it took this long to advise this. I tried to ignore some of the shortcomings so not to ruin the celebration but service and standard of food was just so bad could not be ignored. When we complained the young female manager she offered a partial refund but really didnt seem like she cared at all. I have reached out to Harvester twice now since on their website and still no one has had the courtesy to respond which I guess says it all.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 25james2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear 25james2017,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We regret to hear that your experience was not of the high standard you’ve come to expect at The Talbot.

It is our aim to give our guests 100% satisfaction every time and I apologize that we let you down on this occasion. We received your emails and sent you two emails in response, which may have ended up in your junk or spam folders.

May I ask that you check your folders once more, and if they are not there please reach out to us on 01992 523 966 or Talbotepping@harvester.co.uk so that we can work towards a resolution.

I would like to assure you that we take all complaints very seriously and it would mean a lot to us to have the chance to turn this around for you. Have a great day.

Sincerely, Ifama,
Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

We came for dinner before a works social gathering. Service was 5 star food was amazing. Lea was out waitress and she was perfect. The barmaid jade brought our drinks over quickly. Food was spot on and service was quick and efficient. Can't wait to come back again. Thank you guys

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Grimmers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Grimmers1, thank you so much for the positive review! We are happy to pass your comments along to the team. We hope to see you again very soon! Sincerely, Ifama, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

We booked Christmas Dinner at the Talbot and to be fair we had visited a few times throughout the year and the food was good however, that is where it ends. We were a party of 4 adults and 3 children upon arrival at the desk we waited 5 minutes before being attended to and then when someone did spot us she asked for the name and then pointed saying that's your table in the corner, drinks were served and then came the starters 45 minutes later and one of those was missing. The main course consisted of frozen peas and carrots, an under cooked parsnip dried crusty roast potatoes (aunt bessies or worse) and I seen such a tiny Yorkshire pudding but somehow THE CHEF??? manged to get a tiny sausage in it Duck looked the same on the tables that were around us straight out of the box and straight in the oven. A slice of Christmas pudding with a tiny pot of ice cream and an equally tiny pot with brandy sauce. The staff were young more like students because they did not have a clue on waiting on tables. I can understand that Christmas Dinner offered the opportunity for the Harvester to make some serious money at our expense but I can assure you this episode will never be repeated by us, and as for visiting the Talbot again? Definitely NOT!!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steveb258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Steveb258, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and we regret to find out that this was not the case. Please reach out to us so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to hear from you soon.
All the best,
The Talbot
01992 523966

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talbot Harvester also viewed

Great Dunmow, Essex
Great Dunmow, Essex
 

Been to The Talbot Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing