We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bell hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bell hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Due to having a platinium card with best western I tend to get an upgrade which is a bonus . The staff are really friendly and will do anything for you. The rooms are very clean and good value for money. Been to this hotel twice and will return if in the area on business

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank JillieStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    73
    121
    80
    90
See reviews for
79
104
16
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Don't know what all the moans are about, room clean and tidy with everything working. Polite staff and breakfast fine and plenty of off road parking. I walked into epping for an evening meal and it was great for working up an appetite and walking off an excess of food on the way back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued and really appreciated.

Hope to see you soon !!!


Best Regards,
Vijay Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingbrirchworth, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked this Hotel as it it was a Best Western, plus close the job.
Followed the sat nav and found it okay. On first appreances it looked like a run down Premier Inn/Travel Lodge, it was only the big Best Western sign that stood out.
I went into recption, where a nice polite young lady took my details and sorted my room out.
She said I had been upgrade, so thought I would expect a bit luxury!
Found the room, facing the road, in an anxe next to the main building.
I was very dissapointed with the room on first inspection, no luxury, just a room that need a complete make over.
I sat at the the table to do some e-mails, I nearly fell through the chair,it requires a reseat.
I went out for a walk, it's a good 15 minute walk into Epping Town center.
I got back, ran a bath, loads of Hot water, but again dissaponited as the Taps etc., could all do with re-newing.
My room face the road, but I couldn't hear the traffic, which was good.
I didn't sample the Indian restaraunt attached to the main building.
Overall, the Hotel requires a revamp, to bring it up to what a Best Western is usually like!!

Room Tip: My room face the road, but there were rooms further back, if road noise would upset you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Epping hotels

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Staying here the website looks and appeals. After arriving my opinion was changed very quickly. The hotel itself is very tired. My partner informed reception on Friday 2 of 3 of he ladies toilets were blocked. On Sunday the same toilets were still blocked. Dinner was cold on the Friday. If you would like a battle trying to communicate with the staff this is the hotel for you. On Saturday night we headed for an early night as an early start was upon us. Little did we realise 3am was our wake up call by a group of young boys and girls shouting, swearing, banging, singing along the corridors and in their rooms. A fire door was smashed, tissue, paper and numerous other items thrown over the floor. It has to be said front of house was probably the most helpful chap I have come across.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanCooke1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have stopped here on numerous occassion and it has gone from bad to worse last night was the worst yet ...was given an executive room which was full of dust fag burns in the duvet dirty marks on sheet ...desk chair which collapsed and comfy chair which looked like it had come out of a skip...electical equiptment and appliances 12months past there check by date and door to the block glass smashed and taped up with electrical tape...no duty manager available he was at home..obviuosly has some sense as who would want to be in the dump ..poor recepeptionist looked at the room and said she would not stop in it either ...absoulute disgrace and an insult to the BW sign

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin?

As every other review has stated, it is such a shame that this hotel is so poorly managed- it's in a super location, but that's about all I can say.

I was thoroughly unimpressed right off the bat as we walked to out room (an executive suite) and passed two seemingly stolen Tesco grocery carts which served as Housekeeping's supply carts.

The room was stuffy and smelled of cologne-covered sweat.

The breakfast buffet (not included in the price of the stay) had options, but was not great quality, and fairly greasy. You are better off going to a cafe down the road.

What irritated me the most was the housekeeping service. We were in our room for most of one of the days, so missed housekeeping. Before we left for the evening, I called to request that someone come by- upon out return, we found a bag of towels and sheets outside for us to change them ourselves.

Housekeeping did not even come in the next day. In fairness, when I called to ask for someone to service the room, we were offered a complimentary drink in the bar while we waited for the room to be tidied-up. It was disappointing to find a can of freshener in our room when we returned - and based on the smell, it had obviously be used generously.

On the bright side, the windows opened!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaCA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A catalogue of disasters on arrival we were given a key that did not fit the door. Went for a shower at 2.30 pm water only tepid. We had a had a alarm sounding for 1minute at 4am. The breakfast was adequate although the bacon you could have resoled you shoes with. The staff are helpful but struggling with poor equipment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Property: The Bell Hotel Epping
Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing