We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't do it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just don't do it”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin?

As every other review has stated, it is such a shame that this hotel is so poorly managed- it's in a super location, but that's about all I can say.

I was thoroughly unimpressed right off the bat as we walked to out room (an executive suite) and passed two seemingly stolen Tesco grocery carts which served as Housekeeping's supply carts.

The room was stuffy and smelled of cologne-covered sweat.

The breakfast buffet (not included in the price of the stay) had options, but was not great quality, and fairly greasy. You are better off going to a cafe down the road.

What irritated me the most was the housekeeping service. We were in our room for most of one of the days, so missed housekeeping. Before we left for the evening, I called to request that someone come by- upon out return, we found a bag of towels and sheets outside for us to change them ourselves.

Housekeeping did not even come in the next day. In fairness, when I called to ask for someone to service the room, we were offered a complimentary drink in the bar while we waited for the room to be tidied-up. It was disappointing to find a can of freshener in our room when we returned - and based on the smell, it had obviously be used generously.

On the bright side, the windows opened!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaCA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    122
    80
    90
See reviews for
79
104
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A catalogue of disasters on arrival we were given a key that did not fit the door. Went for a shower at 2.30 pm water only tepid. We had a had a alarm sounding for 1minute at 4am. The breakfast was adequate although the bacon you could have resoled you shoes with. The staff are helpful but struggling with poor equipment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Epping hotels

Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice hotel but very disappointing as restaurant was only serving basic meals apparently their chef was off duty !!!! Bad rostering to have a situation like this, needs rethinking by management. And I had pizza and what a waste not nice at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennlevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

In need of demolition or serious renovation. The main building hides the two blocks at the rear. The blocks have motel like concrete corridors that are freezing cold. Though the essentials are there I wouldn't stay here out of choice. A shame really.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Truetravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I had the misfortune of staying here recently with my husband and 1 year old son for a night. It was a last minute booking as we had to find somewhere at late notice - our superior room cost £90 (pricey for a budget hotel I think).
The outside of the hotel is depressing and as you go down the dimly lit, shabby corridors to find your room, it is reminiscent of deprived towerblock. Our room was quite large and bed looked clean, but when we'd got our son down to sleep, we noticed the bathroom sink was leaking. However, the thing that disgusted us was that the sofa in the room was really dirty and stained. The marks looked really unappealing and to be honest the sofa should not have been in the room as it looked like a health hazard (didn't even want to dump our bags on it). Another thing we discovered after the baby was asleep was that the wooden sliding door you pull across the window to block out the light made the most horrendous shrieking - it needed some serious oiling!
I complained to the manager, but as we coudn't move our sleeping son, he only offered a tiny discount and seemed very uncomfortable and ill-equipped to deal with customer complaints.
We both felt quite annoyed - at £90, you expect to get a clean presentable room. Wished we'd stayed at one of the b&bs in the area instead.
NB. I sent a complaint and received a reply from customer services stating that the stains were bleach. This really isn't true. Pics attached.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We want to apologize for the trouble caused during your stay at BEST WESTERN Bell Epping during your stay.

We are always willing to find the perfect room for every guest. Our rooms in this superior block is always appreciated , though i am sorry it was not same with you. We apologize for your inconvenience.

I do believe that we did try to resolve the leakage issue instantly and wanted to move you to another room on receipt of this complaint, It was unfortunately not convenient for you to move to another room. And also as a gesture of goodwill the hotel offered you a £10.00 refund during your stay itself.

Should you ever be in the area again please do let us have an opportunity of restoring your faith in the Bell Epping.

Sincerely Yours
Vijay Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good efficient service. Excellent in-house Indian Restaurant. Breakfast coffee not to our taste but that's a minor criticism. Night was unfortunately marred by incredibly noisy other guests on the first floor at 2:30 in the morning!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
50 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Harlow Hotel
5.9 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Property: The Bell Hotel Epping
Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing