We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Business trip”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Bell Hotel whilst working in the area. At first sight the place appears a little tired and in need updatingfrom the outside. Large and looks to be fairly secure parking. I had pre-booked, check-in was efficient, executive room clean and well appointed. King-sized bed only had double sheet which became untucked and ruckled during the night so not the most comfortable sleep. Breakfast well timed for work [6.30 onwards] with plenty of choice. Evening menu gives a reasonable choice at a fair price but not particularly tasty. Rooms fronting the hotel face a busy road so you need to sleep with the windows closed or try for a back room. If I were working in the area again I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank plainjane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review, always good to receive at this end.

I was pleased to read that our team looked after you throughout your stay and that you thought our breakfast was good value and you enjoyed your evening meals with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN The Bell and thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    122
    80
    90
See reviews for
79
104
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
249 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as part of a group of about 12 of us come to a Wedding nearby. easy to find good location village of Epping a few minutes walk away. check in was smooth run was a little tired but a nice size and well equipped. the party met up in the bar then the restaurant and the staff were excellent attentive and good humored. We need an iron at one stage and the desk clerk immediately produced one with an ironing board. Breakfast was good with a varied selection.
The price was reasonable too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for such a pleasing review John. Very good to read at this end. I'm pleased you & rest of the group enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you find yourself travelling through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

When you first enter your room you think the decor is a bit tired. That's mainly due to the colour and style of the furniture. It's not modern but it is very functional.
The rooms are very large and comfortable There is an ample supply of good towels, spare bedding and toiletries. Tea, Coffee, biscuits.
The breakfast is ample and of a high quality.
I think this hotel is good value for money when you take the B&B option.
The location is very good, easy access to the M25 & M11 plus access to the London Underground Central Line is a bonus for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for such a pleasing review John. Very good to read at this end. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you find yourself travelling through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for one night. Check in took a whiule but new computer system so ok with that. Room was at the back outside and then up the stairs. I should have had an upgrade as use Best Western card holder and stayed over 12 times this year in various hotels.
Room was ok but could do with a paint and new mattress. Corridors do look like a barracks like previous comments. Tv channels sorted in alphabetical order!!!
Ordered a curry to the room. Was ok but not authentic like it said. The price was ok and tray charge low.
The room next to mine kept me awake till gone 1am. no decent sound proofing here.
Will avoid and try somewhere else next month.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice in the space of two weeks.

Let me start by saying it pays to upgrade at this hotel, the superior rooms are much much nicer than the basic rooms.

First time I stayed the room was brilliant, had a decent tv, mini bar, well stocked tea & coffee and sliding wooden doors on the windows (reminded me of a holiday inn). The Indian food they served in the restaurant was really nice and came with a selection of home made dips. Breakfast was pretty average though. All Staff were nice and very helpful.

Second stay also in a superior room, but this time the bathroom stunk of mould and it was visible on the ceiling. Everything else in the room was good though. Again I went for the Indian option but this time ordered two starters as the dips were so nice last time. When it arrived absolutely no dips, asked the waitress if there was any and was told no. Also for some reason they decided to bring my starters with my main meal resulting in a food overload.

Had I written the review based on the first start it would of easily got four stars but the second stay ruined it for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1986TAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was booked for me by a client.

Cheap and nasty would be my opinion. The TV was awful, unable to get any BBC channel.

There was no hot water in the morning, which meant no shower while spending the day working. Not very nice.

Bed was old and tired. Well past its use by date.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Epping hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for the night with a friend in a twin room while we went to V festival (about 25 mins drive).

The hotel was ok, not great though. Where we stayed looked more like a motel than a hotel, not necessarily bad, but it was just a bit strange. The room was clean but the beds were very springy, because of this they weren't particularly comfortable and the sheets were so small when we turned over they came off the bed!

The bathroom was clean and the shower was ok and the kettle/tea tray was clean.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but the reception staff were friendly and there was plenty of parking nearby.

We got it for a bit of a bargain (£66) so for the price I would say it is ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
50 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Harlow Hotel
5.9 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Property: The Bell Hotel Epping
Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing