We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Hotel Epping

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Sunderland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in room 56 which is in a separate building to the main hotel it's self, kinda reminded me of a travel lodge... From the way the corridors ran I assume all the rooms would be pretty uniformed. The bedroom was quite large for a double and could have easily passed for a family (if a 3rd bed/sofa was in of course). All furnishings were light wood and gave the whole room a bright finish. The bed was nice and big too which was great although the pillows weren't very good for me... I had two and could have easily gone for a third. During the night the room was hot despite the windows being wide open but later found that the "day curtain" which Best Western so kindly told everyone they had to have, stopped any fresh air coming in so we had to pull that back anyway! Waste of money for the hotels... Bathroom was ok.... It's a bathroom at the end of the day! Only down side was that the shower attachment was attached to the wall so you couldn't take it down to wash your hair and you couldn't position the jet of water.... I think that needs a definite look at... In the public bar, the staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was really nice too although the refrigeration buffet unit was a bit annoying when it rattled into life every minute or so... Not really ideal first thing on a morning when you're half asleep! Haha
All in all fairly decent hotel with fairly reasonable prices although some of their pricing on Best Western is a bit over the top...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frecklybear1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    118
    80
    87
See reviews for
78
103
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is as dated as previous reviewers have said, and is in serious need of some TLC - we were staying in the Executive Suites, which must have been truly beautiful when they were last decorated in the late 70s, but the lack of care for the rooms means there's a musty smell in the corridors coming from the carpet. The bed was a nice size but dipped in the middle and the pillows were flat too.

I think I could forgive these shortcomings though - after all, a cursory look at the photographs on here will show you that if you're looking for high class opulence, you're not in the right place - but the thing which was particularly disappointing and ruined our stay was the lack of any kind of customer service - simply, none of the staff members we encountered seemed to care. The hotel is split into two blocks, and at check in we weren't shown to our room or told which block we were in so we wondered round lost with our luggage for a good six minutes before finally getting to our room. In fact the check in experience was mainly to promote the additional restaurants and facilities rather than making sure we had everything to make our stay comfortable. During the night, a rowdy crowd were making noise in the corridors for around 90 minutes. Inconsiderate guests who ignore polite requests to be quiet at 4:30am aren't the hotel's fault - but not picking up the phone on reception when we call down for help to sort the problem out is. And as we left, there was only one lady on the desk, so we had to queue. As with the poorly signposted rooms, there is a quick checkout option, but it isn't clearly labelled, so we had to queue when, after having no sleep, all we wanted to do was get out and never, ever return.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here, the Executive Rooms are less prison-y than the whitewashed concrete co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimGoesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Epping hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Dated but comfortable and convenient
Food was good rooms spacious and good parking with large spaces not like some of the places in and around London where it's hard to get out of your car when parked.
Tea coffee and biscuits in the room are great
Excellent location for access to north London

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are a travelling contractor looking to find a 'bed factory' for the night and somewhere to park your van .... and not be charged loads this place is spot oin - other than that doesn't offer much more so beware if you are looking for what I thought Best Western stood for !

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst working in the area. The room looked very tired and needed a good lick of paint, the bed was terrible with springs popping every time you moved, the pillows were flat with no bounce and the bathroom had mould on the ceiling. After a hard day at work this is not what I wanted to come back to and the breakfast wasn't up to much with very slow service even when it was quiet. Wasn't even offered tea or coffee we had to ask. A very tired 3 star that's needs a face lift ASAP.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently, my family stayed at The Bell Hotel which is situated approximately 20 miles from London. This hotel provides a great home base for those traveling into the city; it is located only minutes from the train/tube station. At first view, the exterior of the row of rooms looks run down; however, we were pleasantly surprised to find the rooms were clean and contained everything we needed: comfortable beds, a full bathroom, wake-up service, and a delicious full breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel rate was reasonable considering the cost of living is high in England. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vrburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Like others I was a bit put off when I saw the place but it was all ok. On the whole I slept alright; the room was ok; bar meal was fine and cost was not too bad. Also conveniently situated. I am not saying good as Reception tried to charge more than my booking reservation was. Fortunately I had the e mail booking with the correct charge and was was given a refund but I thought that was a little odd, to be honest. So you need to check you are not being over charged would be my advice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Property: The Bell Hotel Epping
Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing