We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value And Location. Shame About The Plumbing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location is great for North London and then getting into Essex if needed. Pleasant surroundings of Epping Forest, and only 10 minutes from the M25.

The reception, bar and restaurant area are pleasant enough, with comfy seating and TV's available for viewing the football in the bar area. I ate in the bar area and the food was good quality, generous portions and the pricing represented excellent value. The drinks were a little on the pricey side, so just watch what you order.

My room was of an acceptable standard, with a comfy bed,TV, tea and coffee making facilities. I would have slept well apart from the constant knocking from the hot water pipes and radiators that kept me awake. I requested a change of room, and this was sorted for me straight away to the opposite side of the hotel where the plumbing was either newer or hadn't got a problem with it.

Breakfast was a self-serve buffet, a relatively small choice of items but they were well cooked and tasty. Checkout was quite slow and I would have expected there to be a member of staff on the front desk at all times between 7am-9am. I waited 10 minutes for someone to appear, but when they did they were very apologetic and looked after me very well so maybe there had been a problem she was dealing with?

Overall, I would probably stay here again given the price (£60 B&B) and the location, but would make sure to request a room that had been refurbished

Room Tip: The front of the hotel seemed to have the more modern and updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayumA, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear T7PDC

Thank you for taking the time to comment with regards to your stay BEST WESTERN The Bell Epping..

It is always a please to welcome our guest’s back to the hotel and thank you again for choosing to stay at our hotel. I am glad to inform you that we have commenced work on our plumbing and hopefully you will not experience any disturbance in future.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 423 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a find..... a very reasonably priced hotel in this area which ticks ALL the boxes: Efficient and very friendly staff, excellent rooms with all necessary facilities, very good food and so well located. I'll be back! PLUS: almost forgot: bar prices are reasonable......... not the usual rip-off! Many thanks to Angela on the front desk for really making me feel at home!

Room Tip: The "executive" rooms are really extremely good value for money....... very large and airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayumA, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment with regards to your stay at BEST WESTERN The Bell.

I would like to first of all thank you for your kind comments regarding the check in, Dinner and breakfast and our other services.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having read the reviews I was a little concerned about booking to stay here but it was the most convenient location for the plans we had for this weekend and others near to this weren't cheap enough in comparison to the additional fuel we would use staying another few miles away. We have been pleasantly surprised and will not hesitate to book here again - our room is spacious, well maintained, warm, comfortable and clean. The maid has cleaned and serviced our room to a high standard, the bathroom is spotless, it has been well-serviced daily over our three nights and restocked with sufficient clean towels, toiletries, tea/coffee, milk and biscuits, toilet rolls - I haven't had to ask for anything. It has cost £55 per night room only which for the area over a weekend is about average but have stayed in other cheaper and more expensive hotels previously and I feel really pleased with the value for money. The premier inn further away wanted £65 for the saturday night, and we have stayed at the Marriott Waltham Abbey previously which is far more expensive but we have received just as good service here. Although we haven't eaten in the hotel due to visiting family members, the food prices here aren't extortionate and the room service price list is actually on a par with the prices you would pay for food in any pub ! The bar drinks are about average too, not what I'd consider to be hotel prices at all (I paid nearly £10 at the Marriott once for a pot of tea, some biscuits and a pint of beer). An additional bonus is the early check in and late check out time, our room was available from 2pm on Friday, and we have until midday to checkout today which means we didn't have to worry about having a late night last night as we could still have a lie in - this is a huge bonus as most hotels are 11am checkout, some 10am, so this has made for a very relaxing weekend all in all and we haven't been hassled once by the maid to get into our room

Room Tip: ground floor if you have heavy cases as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homebird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Booked in here by a client for two nights in relation to business. Staff pleasant, call to room shortly after arrival asking if everything was OK which I thought was a nice touch. I was in the Executive Suites....now I wouldn't get too excited about the word Executive but the room was clean and tidy, kettle, tea/coffee, biscuits etc. Couldn't quite understand why with snow laying outside and the temperature being below freezing that the heating in the room was off? I think my main complaint about the hotel was that pretty much everywhere was cold, the bar the restaurant the public areas.

As others have commented the place needs to be refurbished. Bed was soft and uncomfortable.

Other than that the food was hot and well presented, breakfast was OK, staff in the bar and restaurant very polite. I wouldn't be my first choice if I was in Epping again, however with a bit of investment and a tidy up it would be good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgt180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We got the room from Late Rooms for £60.00. It said that the original rate was £200.00 plus which is hard to believe. We paid £5.00 more for an executive room. The hotel is very worn from the outside and our expectations fell a little.
The receptionist was very friendly. Our room was tired and was very disappointing. The television was broken and falling off the wall. There was only one armchair in a space that was clearly designed to have two. The receptionist rang as soon as we were in the room to ask us if it was ok. We hadn't really had time to check it out properly.
I must stress however that having told reception about the television and the lack of a chair both things were corrected whilst we were dining in the town. So no complaints about the staff at all.
I do wonder how long this hotel can survive. It needs a revamp and a shot of inspiration. I do wonder if this is a tall order for such a big hotel where a large financial investment would be needed. It feels like the hotel is letting the staff down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had booked this hotel through the Best Western website and just needed a comfortable room for the night whilst on a business trip. At £60.00 bed & breakfast and with the hotel being close to London I wasn't expecting a palatial experience but was pleasantly surprised. I'm a BW Rewards card holder and as such was given a free room upgrade when I arrived to an "Executive Suite".

To be honest it wasn't a suite but it was a large room with two additional easy chairs and a coffee table. The room was clean and had a nice bathroom which frankly, along with a wifi signal is all I need. The bed was very comfy and the room was nice and warm on an evening when the weather outside was -2 degrees.

The bar is fairly bland with a limited range of bar meals. I didn't eat in the hotel but walked the 10 minutes into Epping to the Duke of Wellington.

Breakfast is a rather limited buffet but the cooked breakfast was very good with poached eggs cooked to perfection. Always a bonus.

Reception and bar staff are very friendly and personable.

Good enough for me!

Room Tip: Always join the Best Wetern reward scheme and always ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB1Epworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayumA, General Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am pleased that you found our room clean and the hotel central.

We take all reviews very seriously and keep working on improving our standards.

If you are thinking of returning on leisure , I would highly recommend to book our Advance Purchase rates offering great discounts for all purpose: Bed & Breakfast, Dinner Bed & Breakfast.

Regards
Kayum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked this hotel a week in advance and got a GR8 deal on a double room. As a regular business traveller I just want to get to my hotel check in eat something and got to bed, tis hotel ticked all the boxes.

The Bell is easy to find not far from the motorway, easy to use and very comfortable. From registering at reception to check out the whole experience for me was very professional. The room was very clean, fresh and in particular nice and warm as I arrived on a cold, cold winter evening – FAB. The hotel staff are very attentive and professional. The only thing I would raise as a slight issue was the bacon I received at breakfast had seen better days and was a bit well done. Secondly for some reason I was not asked if everything as alright with my stay as I was checking out which I thought was unusual as I wanted to give some positive feedback but was not given the opportunity.

Overall this hotel is just what you want if you a traveller who wants great value for money and a safe and clean hotel for the night

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packer_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayumA, General Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Jo

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.It is wonderful to see that you had a great stay and another customer of ours left satisfied.


Its our duty to ensure and check if every guest's stay has been comfortable and i am sorry on behalf of the hotel front desk team who failed to check the same with you on departure.


Kayum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
3.3 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
52 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
762 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
6.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Harlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range: $65 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing