We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed on a business trip and after reading other reviewes i was pleasantly surprised that my stay was perfect, cant point out any problem. Check in was great with attention and was shown to the room. Good clean room nice and warm, it was a superiour room. Free upgrade was given. Comfortable bed and decided to order room service whicht was prompt. My steak was cooked to perfection enjoyed it. English Breakfast was freshly prepared and was tasty. Staff at reception very friendly and left with good memory. Well done.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayumA, General Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks for staying with us. We always aim that all the guests have a pleasant and memorable stay with us and i am glad that you enjoyed your stay and i will pass your feedback to rest of the team. Looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 429 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my elderly mother to visit relations nearby. We had both travelled 8 hours before arriving to check in to the hotel. We were greeted by unfriendly man at reception who said "can i have you card to pay for your stay" and gave me one card to access the room, so i had to ask him for another card as there were two of us staying in a twin room. He pointed to where we should go to the room we had loads of luggage but no offer of help was made to assist us especially as we had to go out of the building and access many fire doors to find our room.
The twin room was spacious and clean, the heating was turned down so you have to turn it up to suit you. The bath plug did not fit so be prepared for a shower only but the water was always hot. The hospitality tray for tea and coffee only gave you 4 cartons of UHT milk and the second day they were off.
There were a lot of foreign staff whom looked miserable and were unfriendly luckily the 2 English ladies during the day at reception saved the day for us and were very helpful when we needed their assistance and i appreciated this very much.
The breakfast was awful cheap bread for toast and the cooked breakfast was either kept warm or not properly heated in the microwave. The bacon and sausage and egg was barely cooked I couldn't touch it and sent it back. The Chef came out and obviously dismayed and asked if I wanted anything else but I declined. I do not blame the staff but I blame the Manager when on the occasions I saw him ignored all guests and bullied staff no wonder they are miserable.
The hotel had no ambience/ atmosphere at all although i suppose if you stay one night that won't really make a difference.
The good points were the room was fine and serviced and kept clean over 3 days and the Ladies at reception.
I could give more negatives but will leave it at that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

rooms booked in this hotel, a group of us out to enjoy ourselves. for a week, the very next day we all checked out - manager was so rude, heating not working, room was freezing and phone in room not working, - and manager told staff not to give anyone breakfast (which wasnt a bad thing as they didnt know how to cook an egg) I am not making this up IMAGINE a chef not knowing how to boil an egg.
You would be warmer and happier if you stayed in a cardboard box on the side of the road - pls dont book this hotel

Room Tip: DONT book into a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank april l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I like Best Western hotels generally so book them with some confidence, more often than not knowing I will get good service in a pretty nice hotel.
This hotel proved the exception to the rule!
The room was basic, tired, dated and not as clean as it should be, although to be fair, the bed was comfy. The room was cold and the radiator was clearly blocked as only the top half got warm! The bodged leak repair to the towel rail also points to poor maintenance generally.
Decoration was knocked about and in need of attention and the food? Well nachos for a starter should not simply be cheap doritos piled on a plate, covered in cheese and popped under a grill until the chips burn and hide those with a dollop of cream and salsa! Breakfast was dull and greasy.
Basically, this could be a good hotel, all it needs is a management team and staff that care!
Use it if you need to, but next time I'm away on business in Epping, I'll look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WainwrightBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Checked in with no problems.The receptionist was very efficient.
My room seemed to have been recently refurbished and so everything was exceptionally clean and tidy and it's not often you can say that about the bathrooms in 3 star hotels.
The bar service was poor.The barmaid couldn't get access to a bottle of white wine and when eventually she hunted one down it was warm.She asked if we wanted ice in it!!
The breakfast service and some of the food (I can still see those eggs that had been fried hours earlier ) was poor but we laughed rather than got angry.Fawlty Towers eat your heart out.
Incidentally the "Sleep Quality" is marked down because the fire alarm went off during the night.Apparently the cause was a guest smoking in their room.Not the hotels fault but the interruption wasn't welcome

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amberley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Make sure you have an executive room! Hotel and rooms tired and I suspect this hotel gets rough clientele. The desk even told me they did and rooms get trashed by nightclub mobs at weekends. Hence they do not take cash. Breakfast ok that's it. Reception staff were superb.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night when attending the Olympics in July, therefore very expensive. Room ok with good size beds for children. Otherwise quite a basic room. Hotel looks quite run down and more like an old fashioned holiday camp.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lag111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
3.3 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
52 reviews
3 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
798 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
6.6 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range: $68 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing