We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bell Hotel Epping
Nearby Hotels
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel(Waltham Abbey)(Great Value!)
$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Harlow Hotel(Harlow)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Gilwell Park London(Chingford)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveler rating
38
80
132
84
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
80
132
84
101
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 435 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

this hotel sold me an executive room. Well i dont know what kind of executives these were built for. They were shabby,with poor facilities and terrible linen..The curtains were broke and didnt pull. The room only had one towel and when we eventually got more than one towel the towels resembled sheets of sandpaper. Really disapointing...We complianed on the day and afterwards without any joy..They really dont care..Next time i stay in the area i will use the premier inn up the road, its much better..And lastly the bed was like a board, couldnt sleep in it and bathroom smelt damp.

Room Tip: Dont bother
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliff t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Receptionist not that friendly, looked knackered!
Really needs a makeover. Very tired and dated.
Room smelt of cigarettes and there was even a lighter on the windowsill!
Room very warm, bed not that confortable. 4 chairs in one room maybe a little over the top, some had burn marks on.
Bath had chips in, as did the sink.
Breakfast included in room rate otherwise don't bother! Basic offerings and hardly worth having a printed menu for a full English. Cracked windows in dining room.
Signs said doors were locked to room areas after 7pm, but we had not issue getting around anywhere - secure?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My room was large and cold, I had the heating on but this did not help. The room was clean and smart, not particularly cosy though probably due to it's large size. Everything I needed was there and I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadenwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Hotel was dead, the receptionist was the bar person, yet seemed to have no idea. Dinner was passable, just. We could sit anywhere, only be to told that where we were going to sit was the breakfast area, so anywhere but not there!! We had a time limit and we made them aware of this, but food warmed in a mircowave wasn't very hot. Ding chef turn it up or put some extra seconds on!! Courses arrived in drips friends were left waiting for theirs when I had mine. Drinks given to the wrong people, a lady with a large glass of wine clearly don't need another drink!!

The hotel corridors smelt of wee, skirting dado rail were high bound in dust. The sleeping/clean me door hanger had dust and a stray hair on it. Toilet was dirty, it takes to seconds to wipe around a toilet. The seette and cushions were stained, hardly good to let paying guests see. The tv was not very secure, could not tilt it and have it stay there. No hot chocolate in the tea tray, isn't that a norm to have in there?

Breakfast was another disaster, bacon chewy, one slice, did you not take enough out the freezer? And fried sliced new potatoes? Had some to use up?? Mushrooms out of a tin, tomato not even fried properly. Only saving grace was the egg. Woohoo. Orange juice watered down, toast you had to do yourselves.... it goes on.

Won't be returning to there or any other best western.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotsofsmoggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayumA, General Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

I apologise for the inconvenience and thank you for your comments which we will look at in details and improve. Some of the comments i feel needs clarification. We use the finest bacon and it has always been appreciated by guests, mushrooms are fresh and cooked inhouse, we used hash brown in past but on recommendation from guests we switched to fried potatoes so they were not left over and cooked fresh every morning and also tomatoes we serve are grilled not fried. Thanks once again for your comments and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

i arrived at this hotel on 31st oct 11, i waited over 15mins for someone to check me in, i asked 2 bar staff, but they were too busy, the receptionist eventually turned up, she did just about apologise , huffing & puffing , not a smile nor any pleasantry, at all, just complaining about her work, she had no idea what credit cards the hotel took, i offered my diners card, but she couldn't use the card machine properly. I stayed in room 28 , the bathroom smelt of drains, i got the spare pillows out to use, both were dirty, and one was stained with make-up, i rang the receptionist, no apology was given, she just said she'd get them changed. I handed the stained pillow case in the next morning and was offered a complementory cup of tea!, because i had a conference room booked for two hours. This room i found acceptable. Because of my experience on arrival i chose not to eat at the hotel, niether dinner nor breakfast. Had i not had the conference room booked for the next morning, i wouldn't have stayed, to honest, my rating of terrible is too good for this hotel, it is run down, and so are the staff, no proper training shows poor management. I agree with Rachel A, and rs1975 demolish it!.

Room Tip: sleep in your car
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayumA, General Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Sorry to know that you did not have a pleaasant experience at our hotel. We value your feedback and i assure you that we will deal with your concerns immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews