We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get a good steak here”

Miller & Carter Epping Forest
Ranked #9 of 59 Restaurants in Epping
Price range: $13 - $63
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A unique steakhouse experience: At Miller & Carter we know a thing or two about steak. In fact, we could say that we're one of the best steakhouses in Essex. But we'd rather leave that to your judgement. Because once you've tasted our hand-cut, 28-day aged British steaks you'll soon appreciate the care of our farmers, the exacting standards of our butchers and the passion of our chefs. Don't just take our word for it; book a table and decide for yourself. You'll find us at the heart of Epping Forest, near Theydon Bois golf club and High Beech and within easy access of the M25 J26. The best of British beef: Our premium-graded British beef is reared on carefully selected, sustainable farms. So whichever your favourite cut, we can trace every forkful back to the field. Looking foward to seeing you there Chris and the Epping Team
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“get a good steak here”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you like a steak then you will not be dissapointed here ,cooked exactly to your liking every time.My only critical point would be the qtr of an iceberg lettuce that comes with every steak ,would of been nicer to have a green salad cut up ,so i opt out of the iceberg wedge.We had trio of breads to start ,then bbq wings and cheese pasta,very tasty,then a ribeye and a fillet wellington, 3 beers and a spirit,came to 62 pounds ,we were too full for dessert.We have been here 5 times and every time our steaks cooked to our liking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lily529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    170
    84
    73
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice steak”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Having attended the restaurant with my family in the afternoon. We had a great lunch and the food was very good. Will be going back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sumptuous steak”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

my favourite steak house.great food ,great service,great surroundings.my first choice for any business lunch. nuff said.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good value lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been to this resturant on many lunchtimes albeit not evenings and always found the food to be good. resturant is nicely set out can recommend the chicken wings for starters and if you pay a bit extra the steak is good worth a trip out, to the Epping Forest

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great start but easy improvements”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice big car park, great first impressions, front of house man was very nice and said out waiter would be along in a minute- I think he got lost as he took at least 10 minutes just to take drinks orders. Drinks took another 10-15 mins to come. Food service was ok although we were left with our dirty plates for over 10minutes while the staff stood next to us chatting. Food quality was nice, can't fault the kitchen staff!
Toilets were a real let down! Such a mess and dangerously broken seats!
Expect the bill to be over £40 per head for three course meal and a drink - not too bad but would expect better service for that.
Overall good place, probably wouldn't return unless toilets were fixed and clean and waiting staff were more attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S-M4X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller & Carter Epping Forest also viewed

 

Been to Miller & Carter Epping Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing