We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On course for the tour de france” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epping
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gate House
Ranked #1 of 3 Epping B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On course for the tour de france”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My brother was already booked to stay in this wonderful b and b. I was so fortunate Jane and Robin a last minute cancellation. It was immaculate and I loved the sitting room and outside terrace with loads of books about the area. Good breakfast too. We also had barbecue lunch at the adjoining pub which was delicious and everyone was so helpful about the tour de france and where to place ourselves. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpookNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to stay comfortable and very clean room. In the morning there's a satisfying continental breakfast served by your friendly host Jane definetly worth a visit as it's in a good location and right next door is a traditional English Pub and an excellent restaurant Haywards

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloydstevens29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

1) The room was and in good condition
2) the bed was ok
3) the breakfast was continental (cooked breakfast £5 extra)
4) the hostess was very friendly and welcoming
5) Plenty off road parking
6) good wifi signal

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Revelatio00x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We found the Gate House very last minute and booked it quite short notice. It has an ideal location, which is kinda away from busy part of London, but close enough to get to central if in need. We were lucky, everything was tip top. Jane was a great host, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very nice, with a little personal touch. Shame we could not stay few more days long enough to dine in the Restaurant next door. We highly recommend this lovely little B&B to everyone, it was very straight forward booking process, smooth arrival and easy check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gwb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Gate House is located right in Epping Forrest and a beautiful new building. We stayed for 1 night (which wasn't enough) on 31 May. Jane was there to greet us as we arrived on a beautiful sunny day to show us to our rooms. Dad isn't so good on his feet so he had a large double bed with a walk in shower to die for on the ground floor. With myself and my son taking roomy twin on the first. There is a communal lounge area with books and games and a dining area. Jane asked what time we would like breakfast and there she was the following day with a huge array of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, croissants and toast. Lots of fresh juice, tea and freshly made coffee - an excellent start to the day. There is also a newly opened restaurant next to the Gate House called Hayward's Restaurant and the menu looked amazing and judging by the comments on Trip Advisor - is amazing ! Can't wait to come back to this area when a visit will also be made to the Hayward's. Thanks for a wonderful stay Jane & Robin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

High quality accommodation in a house set aside for guests only. Rooms with free wifi and very clean and fresh. Shower cubical in my room a little small but quality fittings all round. Breakfast is buffet only and can be taken outside in nice weather. Also in the family the old English pub next door and the newly opened fine dining restaurant, all you need really at £70 a night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights last week and occupied the whole B&B and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Jane was really accommodating, friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts, both cooked and continental. We appreciated finding a large pile of children's games in the lounge.

The house is very comfortable, clean and uncluttered with a simple neutral decor. The beds and bathrooms were great. Really hot water.

We got fresh air with an early walk in the woods straight from the door, which was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemaryw125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
1.5 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
8.7 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate House

Property: The Gate House
Address: 113 Bell Common, Epping CM16 4DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Epping
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly refurbished house which has been transformed into a lovely guesthouse. Our stay was very comfortable and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bathrooms have been fitted to a high standard. Continental breakfast was well presented. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gate House Epping, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing