We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hostess!”
Review of The Gate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epping
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gate House
Ranked #1 of 3 Epping B&B and Inns
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely hostess!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights last week and occupied the whole B&B and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Jane was really accommodating, friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts, both cooked and continental. We appreciated finding a large pile of children's games in the lounge.

The house is very comfortable, clean and uncluttered with a simple neutral decor. The beds and bathrooms were great. Really hot water.

We got fresh air with an early walk in the woods straight from the door, which was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemaryw125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at The Gate House for two nights and we were very impressed. The accommodation was lovely, modern and clean and quite a relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and very well done. A good family run business where nothing was too much and they couldn't do enough to help.

Would definitely recommend and look forward to going back once the restaurant is up and running to give that a try!

Thank you everyone for a lovely stay...your efforts were greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milliem0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was lucky enough to stay at The Gate House recently and have to say I was very impressed. What a wonderful experience, I would recommend this place to anyone. Great rooms, great service and brilliant breakfast. Very good sausage!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon1ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stay at the gate house for a return visit with my family this time what a fantastic place all staff very friendly. felt very welcomed great pub next door and there building a restaurant as well will have to return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Accommodation & hospitality excellent & fantastic breakfasts, Lovely rooms with very comfy beds.& a lovely warm welcoming atmosphere, Friendly pub next door with good food -- soups recommended. Can't wait for the new Restaurant to open - we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I was visiting with my cousin, so we shared a twin room on the first floor of the B and B. The room was spacious with a lovely big shower room. The room had two lovely comfortable twin beds, a flat screen TV, a desk / dressing table, tea and coffee making facilities. The furnishings were new, decor was fresh and neutral, bedding was spotlessly clean. There was also free wifi in the B and B.
I slept well and was offered a delicious continental breakfast the next morning, although we could have had a cooked breakfast if we'd wanted one. Jane was very helpful and friendly.
There was also a lovely pub next door where we could get a drink.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate1975_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed two nights, before and after the England V New Zealand rugby match. Made to feel very much at home, really comfortable accomodation with a friendly pub next door - and a very full, full english breakfast!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sankey1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
52 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
731 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
8.7 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,657 reviews
4.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate House

Property: The Gate House
Address: 113 Bell Common, Epping CM16 4DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Epping
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly refurbished house which has been transformed into a lovely guesthouse. Our stay was very comfortable and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bathrooms have been fitted to a high standard. Continental breakfast was well presented. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gate House Epping, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing