We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and bike friendly”
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chudleigh
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fate led us to this lovely B&B. A spur of the moment decision to go to the seaside led us to inquire at the Chudleigh minutes after a room became available. We received a warm welcome and were delighted with ample parking for our two motorbikes. A real bonus at the end of a long ride. Festooned with flowers, this is a pretty B&B with comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast menu in a great location. It was also lovely to receive a friendly wave goodbye as we continued our journey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Chudleigh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 404 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Clacton wasn't my top choice for a weekend away with friends, but I was in for a surprise. Carol and Peter, owners of the Chudleigh, were wonderful and helpful hosts. My room was excellent - clean, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was terrific with loads of choice - and we had to refuse the delicious-looking muffins offered at the end as we were too full. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Once again a great stay at The Chudleigh. Have stayed on many occassions and always a pleasure. Lovely clean, fresh rooms and bathrooms. Fantastic breakfast all fresh products. Only comment would be maybe could serve breakfast a little later on a Sunday !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A very Nice experience. Not much to go for in Clacton on Sea Else than a Stay at Chudleigh. Champions and caring host. Best breakfast in UK, and rooms very clean and nice. We are glad to have our Daughter experience authentic British culture and food. Thanks.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been to Clacton every year since i was born and this was the first time i stayed at the Chudleigh and i can guarantee i will be returning when i can, it was my first trip away with my girlfriend and i couldnt have asked to stay anywhere nicer , the room was immaculately clean, the bed was very comfortable i have a spinal problem and fell asleep when my head hit the pillow, the tea making area was well stocked, we asked for extra earl grey and the next day we found loads after the room had been made up, the bathroom had a bath and shower which was lovely as to me nothing beat a nice long soak. breakfast was superb its not a choice of cereal or fry up but would you like both with some fruit, yhogurt, muffins and toast inbetween. Carol and Peter who run it were lovely couldnt have been more welcoming, friendly or attentive, they maintained the perfect balance between friendliness and professionalism which is hard to come by . there was no worry about coming in late or early as we were given full set of keys and as for checking out they were more than happy for us to leave or bags while we went out for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malinoisdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed in 4&5 star hotels and the standard of everything in this small hotel/bed &breakfast comes better than some.
The bed linen is top rate.
On our last visit it was mentioned that they were going to upgrade the bathroom. At the time I did not think this to be needed, however the improvement is excellent.

I really cannot rate this higher enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek_snelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We could not fault it at all from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were tendered to. We arrived earlier than the book in time which was not a problem we were allowed to leave the car while we went for some lunch. The seafront is a stone throw away. The room was spotless clean not a spec of dust anywhere. There was a bottle of water on the side, tea and coffee making with biscuits and a little bar of chocolate (green & blacks). In the bathroom there was soap, shampoo & conditioner and shower gel,and lovely clean towels, on the dressing table there was a sewing kit, shoe shine, vanity kit every need tendered for. The bed was so comfortable the comfortable bed I have ever slept in a B & B. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was delicious and a pastry was offered but we were to full o eat it. We would definitely recommend anyone to book if they are visiting Clacton. We had a fantastic stay they definitely deserve their 4 stars from AA.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornajane72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clacton-on-Sea
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
0.1 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#5 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
150 reviews
24.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Address: 13 Agate Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing