We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chudleigh
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A spotless well presented family room with bath and washbasin and separate shower room with toilet. The room we were in was on the front of the property, there was no noise from outside even though it was a Saturday night, very quiet. Owners and their staff all friendly and welcoming. Superb breakfast with plenty of choice. Good dining room and lounge for guests. We would stay here again. There were 10 bedrooms and 6 car parking spaces on the forecourt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
190
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

A really lovely B&B, room was to an excellent standard. Owners immensely friendly and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend staying here. PS If you want to eat dinner in a decent restaurant in Clacton, you need to book in advance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

had another great stay in this clean and lovely dog freindly hotel,,stayed in room 12 with a 6ft bed and en-suite,,,,run by a lovely couple peter&carol,with a great staff back-up,,,close to all amenities,and less than a minutes walk to the beach,,cant wait till our next return visit ,and would recommend it to all..............

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arilliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I've been very fortunate through my lifetime to have travelled extensively and have stayed in some great hotels, but despite the Chudleigh being a 'guest house', I would happily say it's one of the nicest places I've ever stayed.

Form the moment I arrived, the welcome was warm and nothing was too much bother. I booked a single, but was upgraded to a lovely double room. When I asked for breakfast earlier than normal, it was no bother (it was great).

The room was spotless, well-appointed, with lots of little extras that you don't even get in so-called higher quality hotels. How many places have you stayed in where there's a bar of Green & Blacks chocolate waiting for you?

The bed was firm & comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was immaculate with big towels, plenty of supplies and good lighting.

For the money, you'd be hard pressed to get better anywhere - and often will pay more for a lot less.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Although this is in a great location (about 2 minutes from the seafront) first impressions aren’t that promising – it’s opposite a car repair workshop and the back entrance to an arcade. But don’t be put off: this is an exceptional B&B.

We had a spacious room with a large comfortable bed along with dressing table, sofa, flat-screen tv, dvd player, fan. It’s a cliché to say that a room is spotlessly clean but this was definitely the case. There was an excellent welcome tray which included complimentary chocolate and bottle of mineral water. Other facilities included free wi-fi and free parking. The room seemed to have been recently refurbished, but overall the decor in the rest of the guest house was reassuringly traditional (it reminded one of us of the B&Bs used during family holidays in the 1970s).

Breakfast was exceptional – a great range of choices (which included smoked salmon and scrambled egg) and the traditional English breakfast was quite simply a work of art. The owners were friendly and welcoming. This is one of those B&Bs that are better than many a hotel and we couldn’t find anything to fault it for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trainsandpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Chudleigh Hotel from 10th to 12th June 2011, we were on a tour of the east coast.

The hotel is situated in a perfect location for visiting Clacton-on-sea, in the centre of the town, near the pier. Easy walking everywhere. There is off-road parking spaces directly in front of the hotel which was ideal.

When we entered the hotel we were taken back in time to a traditional old fashioned well run hotel. The property was absolutely spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 2, at the front of the property, overlooking the street. The room had a door which opened outside onto a balcony area which was lovely. Room 2 was large and well equipt, however the bathroom was an add-on and too small with no room to move and no ventilation. No window or fan in the bathroom. All the condensation moisture went into the bedroom.

The breakfast was completely served to you at your table, which is unusual nowadays. The waitress was very pleasant and a credit to the owners. Only one negative was the bacon was too salty.

Overall, 10/10 value for money at £80 per night, attention to detail excellent, surrounding area feels a little run down but the owners welcome was warming and we would return if in area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetteBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My advice is to book early...as it get very busy and you will see why. The rooms are better than most you will find in a standard Victorian seaside B&B - they are thoughfully decorated - which money spent. Huge comfy beds - with crisps white cotton sheets and puffy pillows. - scrupulously clean and plenty of lovely little touches like nice green and blacks chocs on arrival. I loved the simple things like not scrimping on cheap tea bags - they leave lovely buscuits and hot chocolate and nice smellies - felt like staying with a favourite aunt more than a B&B. Riun by a lovely friendly couple who warmly shake your hand on arrival and genuinely welcome you for breakfast - and here we enter another sphere! - it's rare a B&B offer smoked salmon with your scrambled egg - and they can't feed you enough - here I learn't a new term - 'what can I get you for your breakfast starters? Breakfast starters? Whoa - a three course breakfast. Close to town and beach and although they don't have a beach view they have a lovely garden and what they lack in view they make up for in view they more than make up for in room size, bed comfort and overall thoughtfulness - as I say book in if you can.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveglamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clacton-on-Sea
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
0.1 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
147 reviews
24.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,542 reviews
10.6 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Property: Chudleigh
Address: 13 Agate Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing