We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run B&B”
Review of The Beeches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beeches
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were scheduled to cruise from Harwich England and needed a place to stay for the night before. We lucked upon The Beeches run by Liz and Baz Draper. The Beeches is a warm inviting place and we were sorry we didn't book a night or two earlier. Clacton-on-the -sea is a small seacoast town with an entertainment section and lovely residential streets. The Beeches is located on one of these. The rooms are nice and what you might expect at such a resort location. The real treat here are the owners Liz and Baz. Baz took very good care of us on check in, moving us to a first floor room as I have trouble with stairs. Liz surprised us with a hearty English breakfast that was fantastic. We travel to England at least once per year to visit relatives and when we return to the Clacton area we will stay at the Beeches.

Room Tip: The first floor family room is close to the breakfast room and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent Stay.Best B&B near by Seaside (but not in the sea side).Also very near to town center . Comfortable rooms with light and air.Barry and Liz are very much Friendly and welcoming. Rooms are neat and clean. will visit again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a really good stay, lovely breakfast and Barry and Liz are such nice people. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in a B and B near the sea, we will certainly stay there again. Good location near to the sea and Clacton town centre. Room was clean and comfortable, what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I loved this clean and spacious B and B. Not on the seafront, but has character and friendly and professional staff. We stayed on the ground floor in the family room. It was lovely with a large bay window. Light airy and spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have been returning to stay here most years since 2008. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and appear to be newly decorated. Barry and Liz are so welcoming and friendly, and the breakfasts are to die for! (you may need to diet afterwards).The B&B is very conveniently located to a theatre, the sea front and many good quality restaurants. Above all, the prices are very competitive and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked this B&B after looking at Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. It's an excellent place to stay, we stayed for 1 night at the end of May. Liz and Barry were really hospitable, the room was lovely and clean and lots of tea and coffee were available as well as a small selection of toiletries. You don't get this in a normal B&B . Breakfast was hot, wonderfully cooked and a lovely cup of tea. Barry asked if we wanted anything else after we had finished but we simply didn't have room. Made to feel very welcome and didn't feel like a B&B at all. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting in the area and will book again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent place to stay, we stayed for 1 night on Saturday 1st June. Barry & Liz are very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was fantastic, when your plate is empty they ask if you want anything else and go out there way to make you feel welcome. The room was very clean and great value for money. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Clacton

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yido27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
1.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#12 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#5 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 12-14 Ellis Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: $55 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run guest-house. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Minutes from the centre of Clacton and the sea-front. 3-star AA rating. Excellent breakfast made with locally sourced produce. Please ring for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beeches Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing