We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Picked this hotel due to it's location close to a sporting event, we had an early start the next morning, so was keen to get a decent nights sleep, sadly this wasn't possible, the adjacent garage and mcdonalds meant there was alot of noise throughout the night.
It's a shame, because apart from that it's a pretty decent place, staff are good, rooms are good, just a shame the location is so noisy.
Wouldn't choose to stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 540 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having just returned from a visit and stay at premier inn for the very first time, I and my husband have nothing but praise for it. Cleanliness, friendliness and comfort are what we have experienced and would definately visit again, the restaurant is great, plenty of choice and good service. Really worth a try to anybody. We strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the fields, its quieter from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beryl andrews a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, we had 2 rooms, one double and one family with a cot.
The double was fine, but the shower/bath water was barely hot.. Bearable but not comfortable.
Otherwise the room was lovely, clean and very comfortable.
The cot provided had no mattress and no bedding at all, so we had to request extra duvets etc from reception to make a kind of mattress which wasn't really acceptable, some warning pre-arrival would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineLH_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family in one of the family rooms. The children's beds were hard. There were holes in the curtains and the bathroom grout needed a big clean or re doing. It was black. Family room was on the ground floor, right next to the car park. Loud lorries at 4AM woke us up on the first night and cars revving early morning on another night. Also although its not the Premiers fault, kids running up and down the hallway at 10PM being chased by their parents was a massive no no. Seems to be no enforcement of the posters saying its a quiet zone as nobody from reception came to stop them and it went on for a while waking both my kids up. Big down side was that there was no on site restaurant. The place next door was nice but one night we failed to get a table and had to drive miles for a decent meal. Staff however are nice, attentive when booking in and friendly but We won't be staying in this particular premier inn again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Kayleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We only stayed for 1 night in Clacton on Sea Premier Inn, the staff were lovely, but the decor was poor and looking ready for a refit. Our bed was only a std double and very uncomfortable. The children would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor, their foldout beds are so hard, no comfort, all had a terrible nights sleep. The shower was pointless; the shower head needed changing and no water pressure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracyl758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to provide this. We would like the opportunity to investigate these issues further. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently stayed overnight at this hotel while visiting my daughter at Uni of Essex, wanted to make the most of our weekend and avoid the drive home to London.
Hotel very clean and with friendly staff on the front desk. Breakfast next door was lovely. Hotel close enough to visit the seafront at Clacton and the town for some shopping in Colchester.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently spent two nights here whilst in the area on business. It's classed as a budget/economy hotel, but once I was in my room I had everything I wanted.

The room was clean and warm. There's internet access and a TV.

The beds and pillows were so comfy, I slept soundly both nights.

The shower room was also clean and tidy. Shower gel and hand wash soap are available in dispensers on the wall. Clean white bath and hand towels were available and replaced on my second day.

It's handy having somewhere to eat next door and meals from the Whitbread establishment next door are pushed by the reception staff, but I found that the food was poor and I wouldn't recommend it, unless you like budget food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelovethinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clacton-on-Sea
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
4.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
595 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
261 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
153 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel

Address: Colchester Road | Crown Green Roundabout, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 9AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: $58 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a fifteen-minute drive from the Clacton-on-Sea seafront and the thrills of its famous pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing