We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bomb site .. And fire hazard”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bomb site .. And fire hazard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have previously stayed here and have ways been satisfied.. But never before have I seen all windows and fire doors/ exits being locked and barricaded with chairs.. Considering it was a private function with on excess of 150 people there for a whole weekend it was dangerous to say the least !!
Hotel management ignorant and was only interested in the money spent at the bar.. Rooms not serviced all weekend either.... Not acceptable .. From now on I will avoid like the plague!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinders42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    47
    48
    29
    56
See reviews for
45
95
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
romford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went to a private function the windows or doors was not allowed to be opened due to noise,everybody was sweating like pigs ,The manager doesnt even smile stands around with a long miserable face. the staff have no food and hygiene skills, i saw a member of staff rubbing her hands over a plate of chips that was being served to customers for a buffet. she should of been wearing plastic gloves, the staff are very unfriendly. ive personally not stayed at the hotel as i stayed else where but was there for a private function and wasnt impressed as the sweat was dripping off people through windows and doors having to be kept closed due to noise.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank elaineRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

WILL NOT RETURN. I stayed here for 1 night whilst working by Clacton booked into a suppier twin room which happened to be crammed with a double bed, a single bed and bunk beds, having tried all the beds none of which were without lumps l settled for the double. The sea view would have been nice if the windows have been cleaned this year. Bathroom needs completely renovating the seethrough ceiling tiles with light above them give a lovely vision of dust spiders cobwebs matchboxes amongst other bit and pieces, take my advice look for something else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel's webpage makes it sound and look great. BUT BEWARE.

We thought long and hard to find one positive thing about this hotel. Well, the television in the room was new but everything else was disgusting.

The room decor was poor with bumpy badly repaired walls and torn wallpaper. The mattress was very old with bumps and hollows. There were cobwebs in the bathroom. The toilet cistern was half hanging off the wall and the toilet never flushed fully away. The bathroom floor was dirty and the shower seals were black.

Our room was directly above the outside smokers table and several times we had to shut the window to keep the smell out.

If you do stay here be very careful of what you have for breakfast. On the first day we got things we didn't order and things we did order were of very variable quality; half toasted barely warm toast, mushrooms swimming in oil, sausages the consistency of paste, and fried eggs that were hard, and on one day almost like plastic.

Most of the staff appeared as tired as the hotel.

Oh! one last thing you have keep the keys with you - but they were attached to the largest, heaviest, thickest keyfob you could ever imagine. Great if it gets lost but utterly impracticable

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night at the end of July. I found the staff very accommodating. I was travelling with my husband and daughter, the hotel didn't have any family rooms available, but managed to put up an extra bed in one of their superior double bedrooms, with sea view at the bargain price of £65.

Yes the hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment, but it was clean and the breakfast was very good and you can't fault the location.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

on arrival the hotel looks ok once inside you travel back to the 60s i now know why you have to pay on entry because you would never stay
the room was clean although there was damp on the walls wires hanging out of trunking the tv and hair dryer pat test are 2 years out of date there is mould all around the base of the shower tray and shower curtain only one small towel no hand towel no bath mat pillows are like bricks we payed £95 for bed and breakfast in my opinion well over priced.
if the price was £45 you know what to expect but considering the premier prices start from £29

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 417vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel from Saturday till Monday. We paid for 2 nights £170 and had breakfast included. Location is great but the hotel itself was shocking. We had a "superior" room. The room wasn't too bad even though the furniture's were quite old, the bathroom looked like it was from the 80's!! Terrible condition of the shower cabin, mould on the shower cabin walls & not great pressure of the water in the shower. Only 1 towel each (medium size) no hand towels, not even a mat for the floor so you have to step on old horrible floor.
View from the room was pretty impressive and breakfast was good.
One day when we were leaving to go for a walk we had to jump over a drunken person thinking they are in their own bedroom but he was actually laying on the floor in the hallway.
I guess it could of happen anywhere but writing this I couldn’t help myself but to mention it.
Lady at the reception was quite helpful taking our luggage in after we find out on our arrival that we can't check in because the room wasn’t ready (it was 2:30pm and we were told when we were booking that it will be ready at 12pm)
Overall experience wasn’t great. I wish we chosen something cheaper, at least we wouldn’t be so disappointed.
So if you are thinking to stay in this hotel I would advise not too.
All the best :)

Nat & Chris

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#13 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: 27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run Seafront Hotel; Ideally located close to the Pier, Town Centre and all available attractions. 30 bedrooms, many with sea views. All rooms have en-suite facilities; colour Satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer and direct dial telephone. All telephones have sockets for laptops to connect to the internet. An attractive licensed bar and lounge. Open to non-residents although monitored for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing