We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no worries !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
SOUTHAMPTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“no worries !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

my husband and i stayed here with 2 other friends in september 2012. check in was easy and quick . the staff were very helpful and polite.we met the owner ,bobby and his family who were also very friendly. we were shown to our room which was spacious .it was also spotlessly clean and the bed was really comfortable with crisp cotton sheets. breakfast was lovely as well.this hotel is a 2 star and is suitable for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisa 149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby R, Owner at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We thank you and greatly appreciate your feedback.

Many people forget that the hotel is a 2 star estbalishmentand whilst we continue to improve the facilities and refurbish the interior, our staff do everything to ensure our valued guests are appreciated and enjoy their stay.

Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    47
    48
    29
    56
See reviews for
45
95
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Booked for 2 nights but stayed for one. Small tired room with sticky carpets.Wall paper stained & peeling from what appears to be dampness. Shower curtain in serious need of replacement & shower not working properly. Toilet walls thick with dust. Coffee mugs in room still had coffee rings inside the mug. When i thought it couldnt get worse, i find a hair in my breakfast! 2 stars is over rated & the photos on the website is decieving, do not waste your money staying here. I wish I had taken photos but I couldn't get out of there quick enough....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank debrabrown2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

ely, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a two nights. When we came car park was full. However they advertising FREE CAR PARKING!!!! Room very small, wall paper and dark not high standard cleaning! Shower very bad curtain not clean there was spider inside shower, toilet not flushing!!!
Main negative point that we weak up in the morning with some RASH ON OUR BODY'S !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LINA v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this place couple of years ago , was expensive for what they offered, room very small and shabby, the bathroom made me feel sick and I got into the shower with flip flops on as made my skin crawl! Must say the manager was very friendly, can't remember his name, Indian gentlemen, but the receptionist , an older woman , she was very rude to me an my first day down for breakfast so never bothered to go down again, plus woke me up at 7.00 in the morning to move my car.....when she had the car keys in case needed moving! Her customer service experience been learned in a jungle!!! She shouldn't be allowed to work with customers. All in all I would never go back to that dump and more so cause of the bad customer experience received! Save your money and stay at premier inn which is always clean and staff polite all the time+ much cheaper

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prettybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby R, Owner at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi,

Just to clarify, we took over the hotel in December 2011 as new owners with new staff.

You say in your review that you stayed a couple of years ago and the end of your review states that you stayed in October 2011.

Whenever it was that you stayed, this would have been before our stewardship.

We have undertaken gradual refurbishment throughout the hotel and have additional ongoing improvement, evidenced by more recent and accurate reviews from guests who stayed more recently.

All our staff are professional, courteous and strive to ensure customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

well i must admit after reading all the older reviews i thought i had made a big mistake in booking this hotel!!!
On arrival i was greeted and shown to my room with a sea view which was very nice!! i must admit i was a bit nervous about opening the door to the room from what i had read!! PHEW!!! ok so it wasnt the ritz but come on people its a 2-3 star hotel!!! housekeeping had done a thorough job and it smelt fresh!! bed was made and everything was dandy!!! went down to the bar area where i actualy met the owner and got chatting to him, He went on to tell me that his family had taken on the task of owning the hotel since late 2011 and that he was aware of the bad reviews on trip advisor from when the previous owners ran it!! we ate there and i can honestly say the restaurant was really nice and the meal was delicious and the desert even better!!!! the hotel is situated right on the seafront away from all the pubs but a 5 minute walk to the centre if you fancied it with a lot going on for all ages i would guess!! when we returned we had a nightcap with the owner and he told us all of his exciting plans for the hotel!! by next season it will be completely refurbished!!! I can assure you i will be returning at easter and will be looking forward to it!! steve from sidcup

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby R, Owner at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review.

The hotel has some 30 rooms, a dining room, bar and lounge - all of which were very tired and required refurbishment.

We have undertaken improvement of the ground floor areas to make the atmosphere more welcoming and friendly.

Some, but not all, of our 30 bedrooms have benefitted from refutbishment and the sea-facing rooms have been prioritised.

We sometimes therefore have conflicting reviews from those guests who find themselves in dated rooms. We are working to upgrade the facilities and appreciate your understanding and acknowledgment that once done, the Esplanade Hotel is a pleasant 2 star hotel.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

well, the room wall paper was horrible meant to be white but was yellow, the room had net curtains. tiny sink that had limescale all over the taps. The bathroom had not been cleaned for god knows how long and it stank of urine, the shower curtain was yellow and stained and the shower was not very powerfull at all, i remember me and my friend running it for 10 minutes for it to warm up. We could hear everyone outside our rooms and the view was horrible- NEVER STAY AGAIN SORRY, nice staff shame about the building- do i have anything good to say? yes breakfast was nice,but thats!!!!!!

Room Tip: ensure you pay over £80 then you will get one stated above :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

booked a few days here 15/17 sept.receptionist charlie was more than helpful and is a great asset to the place.the rooms are dated but give them a chance to sort it.theyve only taken it over about 8 months ago.the cost of the break was very reasonable in my opinion.some people expect too much and have nothing better to do than moan.breakfast was fine.sunday lunch was fine too.all the staff were friendly and made us welcome.the hotel has a great position on the front.car parking is not always available but we found parking in the next street free of charge.at the end of the day,you get what you pay for.we would stay there again and wish bobby and his team good luck with finishing the renovations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#13 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: 27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run Seafront Hotel; Ideally located close to the Pier, Town Centre and all available attractions. 30 bedrooms, many with sea views. All rooms have en-suite facilities; colour Satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer and direct dial telephone. All telephones have sockets for laptops to connect to the internet. An attractive licensed bar and lounge. Open to non-residents although monitored for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing