We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad review on the Clacton Pivilion”
Review of The Pavilion

The Pavilion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad review on the Clacton Pivilion”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I am so disgusted by the staff. Firstly,we rang them up hours before we went&they had said me and my family were getting served a roast dinner and a disco was on. When we arrived we got given a miniscule portion of lamb in bread. So we were all left really hungry. The lamb was soggy and hard to chew, blood was pooring out of it. Then we paid for our drinks and they were tiny too for the price they were. We spoke to the staff and they were very rude about it, they didnt even give us another meal. The disco also didn't happen which they said would. It was a waste of money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madeline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, General Manager at The Pavilion, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
This review has been responded to privately as The Pavilion management and staff refute any claims made in it.
We have never offered a Sunday night option of a Roast Dinner, 2 games of bowling and a disco for £7.99. The deal since we opened has been 2 games of bowling and a hot roast roll for £7.99.
1000's of these have been served without complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to go”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food is good and the menu caters for all choices. The location is great for views of the sea. Sometimes it can be a bit noisy. The staff are excellent, always a smile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sophar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, General Manager at The Pavilion, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Positive comments from all of our customers are what this business is all about so thank you very much for yours and just to let you know a brand new attraction ix coming week beginning 28th Oct in the form of an ice rink which will be here until the end of Feb 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smart Venue”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This new venue has a nice atmosphere with friendly staff. The ten pin bowling is great. Shoe hire included and food and drink available. Indoor amusements and a restaurant with sea views completed our experience. Will return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, General Manager at The Pavilion, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments and are very pleased that you were impressed enough to want to visit again, l have passed your observations on to the staff. Many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Machines pay out in tickets”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The arcade is much the same as the rest.Machines only pay out in tickets and prizes are not good at all. Bowling alleys are very nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, General Manager at The Pavilion, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on this site. Most of the ticketed machines are aimed for the younger trade where the majority are delighted with their prizes and being able to choose them from the redemption shop, we do have an adult section where the machines do pay out cash prizes. As you say the alleys are very nice and we hope that draws you back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun time. Lovely food.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having bowled here last week and enjoyed it, we returned to play pool and use amusement arcade. We also then had lunch at Armstrongs. Whole place very clean. Pool tables in excellent condition. Food and service excellent. Lovely seaside view and relaxing music. Will be back soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lis1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, General Manager at The Pavilion, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Pavilion your review seems to have ticked all the right boxes for you and we could not ask for more. It is really good when we know we have achieved customer satisfaction. We will strive to keep it up so on your next visit you will be equally impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pavilion also viewed

 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing