We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilets a problem”
Review of Aroy Thai

Aroy Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are open only evening from 5PM to 10PM. But If you like to come by lunch time please give us a call to manage your lunch time booking.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Toilets a problem”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Good food, fairly priced
Our problem was that we were seated in an alleyway at the back of the restaurant.
This alley has 3 tables and it leads to the toilets.
That in itself is not the problem
The two see through glass doors at the end of the alley gives a lovely view of the toilets and customers constantly leave the toilet doors open!!
One poor woman forgot to lock the door and we had a shocking view when someone opened the door on her:-)
If the owner reads this then get some curtains on the glass doors and put autoclosers on the loo doors
The above is the reason for the low score for atmosphere and romance
Also we felt rushed, starters and main course came out VERY fast and when we said no to coffee the bill was on the table within a few seconds
I would return but will insist on a table in the main area and ask for a break between courses

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    33
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Favourite restaurant in the area by far”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have visited this restaurant at least once a month since it opened and have never been disappointed. Always receive a warm welcome, however busy they are. Food is consistently of high quality, and we would really recommend to anyone to locals and visitors alike. You will not be disappointed! Especially recommend duck in taramin sauce.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skeithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic little Thai”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Most certainly the best Thai food myself and my family have ever eaten other that in Thailand. Not a fancy restaurant but they do not need to be with the amazing food that they serve. Very clean and really lovely service. A visit to Clacton would not be the same without some of their lovely food and also very reasonable. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple but perfectly delicious”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I visited this charming restaurant as we were staying nearby. The family that own it are very attentive and welcoming. The food is one of the best Thai experiences we've had. For the amount we ate, we were pleasantly surprised at the cost...we would've paid twice that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I visited Aroy Thai in Clacton one Saturday evening recently. We love Thai food and frequently visit Thai restaurants around London. This was an especially memorable occasion. The welcome was charming, the atmosphere was cosy and warm. Just right for a couple to enjoy a romantic meal for two. The food was delicious. Definitely one of the very best Thai meals we have ever eaten. My wife had Papaya Salad and we shared an Aroy Thai Platter to start. Truely wonderful! We then had Pad Thai, Steamed Sea Bass and Panang Chicken with Steamed Jasmine Rice. We greatly enjoyed the amazing variety of rich flavours in this food. We finished off with Coconut Ice Cream with Banana Fritter. The House Wine is excellent, specially chosen to match Thai cuisine. We plan to return to Aroy Thai at the first opportunity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroy Thai also viewed

 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Aroy Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing