We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best tasting food we've had since Thailand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aroy Thai

Aroy Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are open only evening from 5.00 PM to 9.00 PM. But If you like to come by lunch time please give us a call to manage your lunch time booking.
brentwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best tasting food we've had since Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We took our friends for their first Thai meal here and we were the ones surprised.
A small restaurant with lovely staff and the best tasting food we've had since Thailand but , probably, as good as any we had in Thailand.
Ambience nice,portions size fair, service slick and very friendly.
When we come to Clacton, this place is a must go !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    33
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Best Thai Food Ever!!! Feels like i'm in Thailand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have been recommended to come here by Andrei Branescu, a really good friend of the family. And I have to say that I have never experienced such Thai food in my life! The Tom Yum soup is amazing and I had to ask for another portion cause it really tickled my taste buds. The Thai red curry with the rice was very well cooked by the chef, who is a true artist in making heavenly Thai Food!

From the moment you walk in the welcome is beyond belief and you feel like a real queen!
I strongly recommend this restaurant!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseWilson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasent but unspectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The service is warm and friendly, but the starters were very average, out of the freezer?? The mains were nicer, but if this is no.1 restaurant in Clacton-on-sea then tourists had better take their gas stoves

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lance f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over from London - better than London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Lifehouse Spa for the weekend and ate here on Saturday. It was truly excellent. The Massaman Curry was the best I have ever eaten, no word of a lie! We eat in some lovely retaurants in London and have eaten in and across South East Asia and this restaurant was better than many we have eaten in!

Feels like the family's front room and the service is the same, and that's a good, good thing. It's cosy, attentive and very personal.

Eat there, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Londonkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow iin England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just a Visitor but....17-07-2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Firstly I tried hard to find out when it's open. So 7 days a week 5pm-9pm not very long so it gets really popular. The wife and I enjoy our food and thought we'd give it a go. We ordered N0.27 mussamum curry (chicken) described 'A typical Muslim curry with coconut milk, tamarind juice, onions, potatoes & peanuts' now this is not hot but tasty sweet sour quite thin not like indian curry. N0.31 Gai Pad Med Ma-Muang 'stir-fried chicken with cashew nuts, mushrooms. pineapple, peppers, onion & spring onion' this is chicken in a soft chewy batter sweet sauce and the bits mentioned. Lastly because we are not big people N0.79 Koo Kai 'stir-fried rice with egg, carrot & peas' this is slightly sticky rice that just marries all the ingredients together! We took it as a takeaway because we have a cocker spaniel and the staff a young thai girl brought it out to us when it was ready. Once 'home' and opened the wife and i looked at each other and were dissapointed but once served up and we tucked in we were amazed, excelent food!!
Hope I've given you some help?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroy Thai also viewed

 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Aroy Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing