We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go inside :)”

The Great Gurkha Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 189 Restaurants in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The award winning family restaurant.Has been running successfully for last six years without anything slowing us down. Our aim is to create the taste preference that you have always longed for, whether it is mild, moderate or spicy. Representing the highest level of Nepalese & Indian quality and royalty demands, training, experience, dedication and impeccable presentation. At Gurkha we are always trying hard to use as little oil as possible and always without artificial food colouring. We are passionate and proud of food services. We have made every effort to select and combine the very finest ingredients so that our customers can enjoy a delicious high quality meal every timeout.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go inside :)”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed in Clacton-on-Sea for a weekend and were looking for somewhere nice to eat. We stumbled upon this restaurant which is quite understated from the outside, however, we are SO glad we went inside as the food was DELICIOUS! The staff were attentive, friendly, helpful and very polite and assisted us in selecting dishes. Everything we ate was delicious (starter and mains) and the food was very reasonably priced and the food was not greasy or oily in the slightest. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melanoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    18
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow food”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I must say that the level of service and food is excellent. We are vegetarians so we requested some dishes before we came to eat, so the chef prepared it so nicely for us that we will never forget this restaurant. Krishna the manager was very helpful and made sure that we get perfect food. This visit was my highlight to Clacton despite bad weather on bank holiday weekend

Helpful?
Thank peeyush b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not bad”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Food was good, curry which I had wasn't great, staff were friendly and attentive, was reasonably priced. Overall not a bad experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattyB666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A great experience excellent food. Good variety of dishes special dietary requirements present no problems.
Staff attentive and very polite.
Will visit again soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lydcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Lovely evening yet again. Food great excellent service. we will be back again and again with my family and friends. Highly recommended for all occasions for people of ant age.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to The Great Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing