We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent meal..”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #39 of 189 Restaurants in Clacton-on-Sea
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent meal..”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This restaurant is ideal for people who have never eaten Indian cuisine before. The choice of menu is excellent and the staff are very well informed about the dishes offered helping with strength and varying tastes.. I took two friends recently both of who where Indian newbies and the thoroughly enjoyed it as did I.. I would recommend unreservedly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    8
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Saffron is a modern contemporary looking restaurant. If you weren't aware of it, it's hidden away in Gt. Clacton. We have now been numerous times when in the area.
The staff are always friendly and the food is very good always freshly prepared and very tasty with a wide variety of dishes including some I'd never had before.
The service on occasion can be a little slow but not to the detriment of your meal, the atmosphere is possibly the only slight let down, but I think that's more to do with how used you are to noise levels and the fact they do take-aways as well.
Drinks are well priced and the variety is good - the house red wine is surprisingly cheap and surprisingly good.
All in all one to recommend and try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpattenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“indian restaurant”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great food, great service, very good choice on the menu and staff are happy to change dishes, my last visit we had the set menu, they had a spicy dish on the main menu that I had never had and asked if they would let me have this on the set menu, no problem. Best indian in town and one of the best places to eat locally. Would advise anyone visiting to try it out. The takeaway service is also great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton/Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor service to loyal customers”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Really really disappointed with our latest and last ever takeaway. Me and my husband get our weekly takeaway from this place, always pretty much have the same thing, they're always 10/15 mins late but we don't grumble as we usually enjoy the food (when they get the order right) but after our last experience it has simply put us off for ever. After arriving 45 mins late, we open our bag to find the main dish isn't what we ordered but something different!! My husband calls back to let them know its wrong. They asked what we were expecting and then they told us they don't do that dish!! Huh?? We've ordered it plenty of times before!! He then went off for ages to check with someone else and said they think they've changed the way they do it but they'll get another out to us...in half an hour!! The rest of my food would be no good by then, but no offer of the side dishes to be delivered again complimentary!! Then they said they'd take it off the next order...great so I have a naan and rice but no main. My husband told them not to bother we won't order again!! So I sat down anyway to eat my naan and rice to find that actually they were already STONE cold!! So fantastic... My dinner that I've waited nearly 2 hours for is unedible and half missing...and no offer of a refund!! Ill be taking my business to the blue sari in future!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 80970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton Essex
1 review
“Best curry in town”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

simply the best indian restaurant in the area, great friendly staff, good value, try a fish curry!
drinks reasonably priced also excellent for take away

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marrakesh1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing