We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saffron Restuarant - Curry Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #40 of 184 Restaurants in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saffron Restuarant - Curry Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Myself including in a party of 8 went to the Saffron in clacton last night to be nothing other completely happy with everything, the food, the staff, the atmosphere it does get a touch loud but I'm sure we contributed to that, it was my girlfriends birthday and they secretly took cakes in the back and lit them at request, the end bill was also amazing we couldn't believe it was only around 20per head with drink and we didn't hold back on the food and appetisers, so thanks to the saffron for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy_Murton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    23
    8
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food but a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Some of the tastiest Indian dishes I have eaten, never been disappointed with the food quality, and it is always served hot and is well-presented.The staff are generally cheerful, courteous and attentive. "Banquet Night" on a Thursday evening is a little more expensive than most but it is worth every penny. Have been here on a number of occasions with friends and family and it is always busy, which is a good sign, but makes it a bit noisy. Atmosphere, lighting and decor is not typical of an Indian restaurant, and there is no background music. I recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobM763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“lovely place to eat!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Been using the Saffron for at least 3/4 years, newly refurbished modern decor, spotlessly clean... In my opinion the best indian food I've every eaten. Top that with great atmosphere and service; it's busy most days of the week, so make sure you book.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beeches_Clacton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Food & Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Booked birthday celebration with 16 of us at Saffron. I changed the amount of people attending several times, this wasn't a problem for the staff. We had varied dishes from all parts of the menu, we were all very pleased with the fresh tasty Indian food. Our food was served in a timely manner and they double checked to ensure every one had what they ordered.The staff were so helpful and nothing was enough trouble. For 16 of us,popadums, starter, main course, side dishes,nann bread, 3 bottles wine and varied individual drinks £345 which was excellent value. Only minor issue the coke on flat side despite replacing it several times. So for a larger party Saffron is excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discotrevor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I always order from here so so so so so so so so.. Very very very very very very nice . Is famous restaurant in clacton on sea

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mizanurrahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing