We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clacton's fairground attraction”
Review of Clacton Pier

Clacton Pier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Clacton Pier is officially the largest pleasure pier in the UK covering a staggering 6 1/2 acres. First opened in July 1871 as a landing stage for goods it was the first construction in the "new" town of Clacton-on-Sea. The town was initially built as a Holiday Destination for Londoners and with poor road access and no railway the pier was the main gateway for goods, holiday makers and locals alike.By 1922 the pier had fallen into receivership and was bough by Ernest Kingsman a businessman who saw the potential to start developing the wooden structure into an amusement destination. Amongst many other things he was responsible for all of the piers main extensions, including building the swimming pool, at least three theatres, adding the original steel Stella roller coaster and the blue lagoon dance hall. Since the kingsman family sold the pier in 1971 there has been a string of owners with the pier going into steady decline, until March 2009 when it was bought by the newly formed Clacton Pier company who has been investing heavily in the attraction. The pier now boasts a selection of new and refurbished family fun rides, Seaqurium sealife centre, 10 Pin bowling, the boardwalk bar, American diner, loads of eating places, great fish and chips, an activity zone and a function room named....The Kingsman Room................and there's a hell of all more in store so LIKE us on Facebook and visit our website to keep updated.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A nice compact little fairground, felt a bit nauseous after the waltzers' but that has more to do with age I think. Enough there to keep my 9yr old and 14yr old happy for a couple of hours.

1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClactonPier, Manager at Clacton Pier, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi and thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us, maybe next time you could visit the Seaqurium, our very own sealife centre, and then have a game of bowling at The Lanes our all american 10 pin bowling centre. With these and other attractions you'll be well on the way to having a whole day out here at Clacton Pier.......look forward to seeing you soon.......CP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"all ages"
in 97 reviews
"helter skelter"
in 17 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 25 reviews
"slot machines"
in 39 reviews
"bumper cars"
in 17 reviews
"under cover"
in 26 reviews
"free entry"
in 20 reviews
"unlimited rides"
in 14 reviews
"great fun"
in 45 reviews
"bowling alley"
in 32 reviews
"amusement arcade"
in 20 reviews
"typical seaside"
in 14 reviews
"few hours"
in 28 reviews
"ice cream"
in 38 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 21 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 27 reviews
"go karts"
in 14 reviews
Filter

1,230 - 1,234 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I last went to this pier in 1979 as a child. It was lovely to be back and take my husband for the first time. It is a great place for children, especially with amusements and food places. There's nothing like a big ice-cream when walking around. It's not the easiest to walk on, with planks some of which are uneven.

1  Thank MaryKateNI19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClactonPier, Manager at Clacton Pier, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Wow, 34 years since your last visit, you better make sure its not so long until the next visit , we've got plenty of lovely ice cream ready and waiting for you when you visit next. We've an ongoing repair and replacement plan to keep the decking in a good state of repair but lets face it, this old pier has just turned 142 years old so some cosmetic surgery will be needed from time to time.......Thanks for posting ...CP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

arcades,fair rides,food and drink outlets and great views. we visited the aquarium on the pier which only cost a small fee,we got to see a baby shark and lots of other beautiful fish.

Thank lisajayne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClactonPier, Manager at Clacton Pier, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi looks like you had an enjoyable day and had a good time in our Seaqurium, keep a look out for Gav or Doz our resident fishy experts their passion,knowledge and eagerness to answer any of your questions makes for an even more exciting visit. Thanks for posting. CP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Pleasant enough but not enough to keep a two year old amused for long without feeding machines constantly.

Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClactonPier, Manager at Clacton Pier, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello and thanks for posting, its nice that you found the pier plesant and we realy appriciate your comments re your two year old. Please give us a try again in the future, "there's more fun in store" and in time we will have more and more attractions for all ages.....thanks for visiting CP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

good rides for all ages. Nice to walk along the pier, and few little shops on there- good amusements.

1  Thank alisan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClactonPier, Manager at Clacton Pier, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi and thanks for the post......we're glad you like our attraction and would love to see you again soon.......CP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clacton Pier also viewed

Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Clacton Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing