We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slight wind chill factor on the pier but it was Feb!”
Review of Clacton Pier

Clacton Pier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Clacton Pier is officially the largest pleasure pier in the UK covering a staggering 6 1/2 acres. First opened in July 1871 as a landing stage for goods it was the first construction in the "new" town of Clacton-on-Sea. The town was initially built as a Holiday Destination for Londoners and with poor road access and no railway the pier was the main gateway for goods, holiday makers and locals alike.By 1922 the pier had fallen into receivership and was bough by Ernest Kingsman a businessman who saw the potential to start developing the wooden structure into an amusement destination. Amongst many other things he was responsible for all of the piers main extensions, including building the swimming pool, at least three theatres, adding the original steel Stella roller coaster and the blue lagoon dance hall. Since the kingsman family sold the pier in 1971 there has been a string of owners with the pier going into steady decline, until March 2009 when it was bought by the newly formed Clacton Pier company who has been investing heavily in the attraction. The pier now boasts a selection of new and refurbished family fun rides, Seaqurium sealife centre, 10 Pin bowling, the boardwalk bar, American diner, loads of eating places, great fish and chips, an activity zone and a function room named....The Kingsman Room................and there's a hell of all more in store so LIKE us on Facebook and visit our website to keep updated.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“slight wind chill factor on the pier but it was Feb!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

its a pier in Essex! there are slot machines etc, we went out of season to visit family and most of the attractions were closed as out of season! gotta love the sea side though :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ebl_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    413
    237
    54
    40
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“It was good”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I enjoyed having some delicious noodles as i visited the pier. It was sunny and i ate outside. I loved the arcades and I spent a good time enjoying myself there. I'd recommend visiting here. I enjoyed winning tickets and choosing a prize.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Fading Glory”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Like so many of the nation's piers,this one has had some money spent on it, but needs more. Still, it's jolly for kids and the wristband-based pricing for the rides is reasonable. Note: very little ones (up to 3) have far less choice of rides. The cafe at the end of the pier is basic at best.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Retyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice little pier.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovely little pier, few activities, Beach next to it, nice golden sand, town near it, not much to do but nice area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The pier was great fun for kids of all ages including grown up ones, there were loads of rides that using a wrist band were good value for money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brennybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clacton Pier also viewed

Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Clacton Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing