We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Comfortable”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunton House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 13 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Value, Comfortable”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in room no 6. This was a twin room consisting of a small double and a single bed. The bathroom was small but very well fitted out and the loo had an amazingly quiet flush.

Beds were comfortable. As stated before, breakfast items supplied in the room and this was a big draw for us as we had a very late night planned and it was great to be able to potter around with a cup of tea and make breakfast at leisure in the morning. The room was very quiet and the whole place very peaceful and well looked after. Unfortunately I had a cold virus which left me feverish and in bed much of the second day. We did not want to cancel our weekend as we had come for an event so I struggled on and it was great that the hotel was so quiet and comfortable as it was well needed. I really cannot find a fault with this place at all. Good location, parking, great rooms and facilities and all reasonably priced. Don't change a thing :)

Room Tip: We had room 6 and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzziewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited Claxton for a friend's wedding.we booked in for two nights at the brunton.Very friendly and very helpful owners.the place is spotless clean.Very close to the pier,shops and restaurants.free WiFi,worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patsy mossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed recently for 3 nights at Brunton Guest House. We found the room to be spotlessly clean with crisp linen and towels and toiletries included. Breakfast consisted of bread, butter, jams, milk, orange juice, cereal, yoghurts and fresh fruit, various teas and coffee. Sufficient room for table and chairs, all cutlery, plates, toaster, microwave and fridge supplied to enable you to have breakfast at your leisure - what more could you want? We arrived late on our first night and were greeted with a warm welcome from Paul, the proprietor, but.......the highlight of our girlie break was Sofia supplying us with 2 wine glasses after spotting our stock in the fridge!!!
Will most definitely return in the future. Many thanks to them both from Janice Gray and Julie Campbell

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Brunton House as a base to visit my elderly parents.

The room was super-clean and the shower worked - it was noisy though, so I don't know what it would have been like for someone next door. We didn't hear anyone else through the night so I'm guessing there's some decent soundproofing.

One of the things that normally puts me off guest houses is the communal breakfasts, where you have to be down for a certain time and have to make conversation with the owners. I prefer the anonymity of Premier Inns and the like. Anyway, no problems here! The continental breakfast - yogurts, milk, couple of cereals, plenty of sliced bread and jam, and some fruit - was already in the fridge in the room so you could have it when you liked. This would be great if you were working and needed an early start.

At £50 for a double room, this was extremely good value. Flat screen TV on the wall with good reception (again, the traditional guest house seems to be the last refuge of the badly tuned old-fashioned TV, so that was a relief).

Friendly and practical welcome. Off street parking.

Bed was a little on the small side for a double, and you could slightly feel the springs in the mattress - not enough to stop a good night's sleep though.

Overall, a great value option that over-delivers for the price - I would definitely stay here again if I needed to visit Clacton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great, roomy, quiet facilities. Wonderful stock of food and drink for breakfast and snacks. Location of the guest house is very close to the sea and town centre. We walked everywhere.
Sofia and Paul were very helpful and friendly.
Nice big, comfortable beds, large room, lovely ensuite.

Room Tip: We were 'under the stairs', but the room was great; big window, high ceilings, tons of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A warm welcome and as you went in it smelled so clean and fresh,the room was great clean fresh bedding and towels,there was plenty for breakfast,cereal,yoguarts,50/50 bread,pint of milk,fresh fruit,banana,apple,plum,orange,lots of butter and jam's,cheese and more than enough tea,coffee and sugar,we would stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 412linzi123412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good sized clean well decorated room. Bathroom small but functional. Breakfast was very disappointing. I like the idea of a continental breakfast in the room but the quality of the food was very poor. No choice of cereal, processed cheese, sliced white packet bread for toast and a couple of corner yoghurts - the only fresh fruit was an apple, a pear and a satsuma ( as there were two of use wasn' t sure how that was supposed to be shared out!. Plenty of tea and coffee. Don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
1.3 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
0.2 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton House Guest House

Property: Brunton House Guest House
Address: Guest House 15 Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunton House Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton House Guest House Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing